SIGNAL RED – Under The Radar [Japanese Edition +1] (2018)

SIGNAL RED - Under The Radar [Japanese Edition +1] (2018) full

SIGNAL RED is a brand new band from the UK formed by two very respected musicians namely guitarist Steve Grocott (TEN) and vocalist Lee Small (PHENOMENA / SHY / LIONHEART). Their debut CD “Under The Radar” will appear in Europe soon, while it has been released in Japan few hours ago.

You need good songs. That’s it. Ah, and a top class vocalist. SIGNAL RED goth both.
Lee Small is a brilliant vocalist, you will probably have heard of his work with Shy, a breakthrough for him on many levels, thankfully he is still around fermenting great music. His voice can best be described as a mix of Glenn Hughes soulful jibes, strong metal-esque range ala Lance King and throw in a little Chris Ousey tuneful spark. What a comparison no?
Regardless is not just the vocals here, their new album “Under The Radar” boasts some incredibly high tempo flying guitars and rhythm and bass, enslaving the listener from the very first tune.

The record kicks starts your heart with “Defiant”, hell of a jump tune totally hooked from the beginning, guitars and vocals ready and amped shoot out like a bat out of hell. The next two tracks ‘Houdini’ and ‘Stronger’ leave you breathless, non stop melodic prodigious bliss.
Steve Grocott is a terrific, underrated guitar player, the keen changes of tempo between the songs here just scream out class, great job, looks like they took a while to get this one done and for good reason. Every beat, every rhythm just works in sync with the overall feel of the record.

The trip keeps riding along nicely with ‘Monster Truck’, another example of both melody and crushing backbone rhythm, Lee’s vocals take the cake again, solid tune with Journey-esque guitars.
An enigmatic sound erupts at the beginning of “Pyramid of Mars”, then your ears get crushed again, as lyrics travelling through time and space, and superior technology I can’t tell if I’m listening to Hughes or Lance King… no, it’s the versatile Lee Small. Great song.

They slow things a bit with the elegant “Emotions In Motion”, the recurrent edgy sound comes back and reinforces itself purposely in “Highwire” and the exquisite “Making Contact”, with some delightful keyboards setting the mood just right.
Final two songs come epic, with the strangely yet aptly titled “Goth the Girl” delivering onto the finale of “The Time Machine” that creeps with escalating anticipation that this great album is coming to an end.

SIGNAL RED - Under The Radar [Japanese Edition +1] (2018)

SIGNAL RED’s “Under The Radar” is a journey through time and space, and signals of futuristic hope. There’s some kind of a concept, a nice little story line, but the real deal is the music, just fantastic uptempo stuff from all in the band.
Just one of those albums you won’t hear much from around the music scene, but damn it is superbly done, delivering and amazing songwriting
Great job Steve and Lee, what a combo, please don’t disappear of the face of the Earth, and keep sending these ‘signal’ music wonders through the Universe.
One of the albums of the year.

01. Defiant
02. Houdini
03. Stronger
04. Tell It To The Bees
05. Monster Truck
06. Pyramids Of Mars
07. Emotions In Motion
08. Highwire
09. Making Contact
10. Goth The Girl
11. The Time Machine
12. Listen To Your Heartbeat (Japan Bonus Track)

Lee Small: All vocals (Phenomena / Shy)
Steve Grocott: All guitars, keyboards, strings (Ten)
Brian J Anthony: Bass (Steve Walsh)
Dave Anthony: Drums (Dennis DeYoung)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.