AMMUNITION – Ammunition [Japanese Edition +1] (2018)

AMMUNITION - Ammunition [Japanese Edition +1] (2018) full

Scandinavian supergroup AMMUNITION are set to release their self-titled album via Frontiers Music on January 26, 2018. But the Advanced Japanese release appeared a couple hours ago (yes, two hours) and you already have it at 0dayrox.
The who’s who from the Swedish / Norwegian melodic hard rock scene are here: Age Sten Nilsen (ex Wig Wam), Erik Martensson (Eclipse, W.E.T., Nordic Union), Victor Cito Borge (TNT), Lasse Finbråten (from Circus Maximus, also ex-Wig Wam), Magnus Ulfstedt (Eclipse) and Jon Pettersen on guitar.

This album consists of 11 tracks (plus a Japanese exclusive bonus) of melodic bliss for fans to fall in love with. Bouncy n’ hooky Melodic Rock is something this band has completely captured on this record.
Musically, they did a great job in claiming their own unique sound that can just be referenced as Ammunition.

“Ammunition” kicks off as Nilsen belts out a long-held scream to some quick guitar work that leads you into ‘Time’, a song that will have you shaking your hips to the beat as your body finally catches up with the music and you’re humming along to the track.
The momentum continues on into the second track ‘Freedom Finder’ which is also the second single released off of Ammunition (see the video below). The song is really groovy / melodic with great harmonies throughout and catchy choruses that let fans start singing along quickly too.

As the album continues on, listeners are brought to a fun track with ‘Virtual Reality Boy’. Great punchy and entertaining lyrics, pay close attention to this one, I think it will become a favorite for many.
We get a slower midtempo semi-ballad with ‘Eye For An Eye’, a very well arranged song where you can hear Eclipse’s Erik Martensson hand, then back into more uptempo territory there’s ‘Tear Your City Down’, a tune that I almost thought Joey Tempest from Europe was doing guest vocals on, but nope, Åge completely caught me off guard with his vocals on this track. Pretty awesome actually!

The album will keep you rocking out with ‘Caveman’, and then turn things up a bit when you get to track 8 ‘Wrecking Crew’ another cut that had me second guessing if Joey Tempest was actually singing! This song also placed second in the Norwegian ESC Finale (Melodi Grand Prix) back in March 2017.

The CD wraps up with the final 3 tracks; ‘Miss Summertime’ that slows down in a ballad mode with the typical Scandinavian class, then pick up the pace with ‘Bad Bones’, a sassy and hooky tune.
The album ends on a rocking note with ‘Klondike’, a killer, gritty melodic hard track that will keep fans moving until the last note.

AMMUNITION - Ammunition [Japanese Edition +1] (2018) back

As Japanese bonus track there’s ‘Eye For An Eye (Acoustic Version)’, a very nice re-work on the fifth track showcasing how good these guys are composing.

Bravo Ammunition. What a spectacular new record. You’ve given melodic hard rock music fans an album to rejoice over early in 2018. Thanks for kicking the year off for all of us with such a masterful and enjoyable CD.

01. Time
02. Freedom Finder
03. Virtual Reality Boy
04. Gung Ho (I Told You So)
05. Eye For An Eye
06. Tear Your City Down
07. Caveman
08. Wrecking Crew
09. Miss Summertime
10. Bad Bones
11. Klondike
12. Eye For An Eye (Acoustic) (Japanese Bonus Track)

Age Sten Nilsen (ex Wig Wam) – lead and backing vocals
Magnus Ulfstedt (Eclipse) – drums
Victor Cito Borge (TNT) – bass
Jon Pettersen – guitars
Lasse Finbrathen (Circus Maximus, ex Wig Wam) – keyboards
Erik Martensson (Eclipse, W.E.T., Nordic Union) – guitars, bass, programming, keys, backing vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.