ILLUSTRATOR – III ; Effect Of The Boomerang (remastered reissue 2017)

ILLUSTRATOR - III ; Effect Of The Boomerang (remastered reissue 2017) full

Christian rock US bands developed an interesting performance since the mid-80s launching radiable and commercial discs, with a very good artistic production. ILLUSTRATOR, Gaube’s bros. group, was one of them.
Their self titled debut gained considerable success in CCM circles and mainstream radio, but it was their 2nd ‘Somewhere In The World’ which achieved recognition between AOR fans, thanks to the catchy melodies and lush harmonies.
A third album was recorded but never released until few years ago, but went out of print. Now New Zealand label RetroXian / Rock Time did a remastered reissue 2017.

Titled “III ; Effect Of The Boomerang”, sees ILLUSTRATOR with a more contemporary second half of the Eighties approach to their music, retaining the AOR / Westcoast elements ever present on their work.
“Light Up The World” and “Waiting For You” have a Mr. Mister-like style. Both feature great guitar work from Dan Gaub, nice choruses and cool backing vocals.

There’s competent soft tunes such as the Westcoast tingled “I Guess You Know” and “First Time”, or the AORish “So Goes The Story” (recalling ALLIES) and “Every Step”.
You have also rockin’ tracks with nice rhythm on “Burnin’ Down” (great hot solo) and “Falling”.

ILLUSTRATOR - III ; Effect Of The Boomerang (remastered reissue 2017) back

“III ; Effect Of The Boomerang” is an enjoyable ‘lost’ album with an Eighties / early Nineties sound & production: smooth vocals, good stylized guitars and really smooth melodies. There’s a lot variation on this recording to keep you interested.
A really nice slice of unheard, classy American lite AOR.

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – Light Up The World
02 – Blind Man
03 – I Guess You Know
04 – Cover My Eyes
05 – Someone
06 – Waiting For You
07 – Idol
08 – Every Step
09 – So Goes The Story
10 – One Rose
11 – Chasing Rainbows
12 – Angel Eyes
13 – Burnin’ Down
14 – First Time
15 – Falling

Mark Matthews: Lead Vocals, Bass, Sax
Nathan Gaub: Vocals, Keyboards, Synth Programming
Dan Gaub: Guitar, Vocals, Percussion
Dawndee Gaub: Keyboards, Vocals
Kirk Allen: Drums, Electronic Percussion


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.