DOWN ‘N’ OUTZ – The Further Adventures Of… [Frontiers Music reissue +2] (2017) [exclusive at 0dayrox]

DOWN 'N' OUTZ  - The Further Adventures Of... [Frontiers Music reissue +2] (2017) full

The Further Adventures Of…” is the second studio album by Def Leppard’s frontman Joe Elliott side band the DOWN ‘N’ OUTZ, now reissued by Frontiers Music with 2 extra tracks.
Featuring Joe on lead vocals and members of UK rockers THE QUIREBOYS (plus their former drummer Phil Martini), this 2nd album delves deeper into the MOTT THE HOOPLE back-catalogue — reigniting catchy but more overlooked numbers like “Marionette”, “One Of The Boys” and single “Rock N’ Roll Queen”.

“It’s definitely more obscure”, says Down ‘n’ Outz founder, Mott lover and Def Leppard frontman Joe Elliott. “The game plan was to go where we couldn’t go with the first album. I just wanted these songs to get a fresh coat of paint and be heard.”
Discussing the track selection process this time around, Elliott says: “I thought, ‘what’s my desert island playlist of Mott stuff?’ I didn’t want to do Roll Away The Stone, All The Young Dudes… the obvious ones. I wanted to go deeper and make it a proper record of rarities”.

DOWN ‘N’ OUTZ dig into the classic years of Mott but still sidestep the songs that everybody knows and scraped the charts. The great albums ‘All The Young Dudes’ and ‘Mott’ anchor this tribute and the group happily stretches to Mott’s earliest years — this comes kicking to life with “Rock & Roll Queen” — and dives into the murk of “The Journey,” an epic that’s balanced by the elegance of “Sea Diver.”
These new versions work because DOWN ‘N’ OUTZ attacks like Mott did back at their heyday: they have a lot of muscle and heart, and keep the melodrama in check.

If you liked the first DOWN ‘N’ OUTZ album, you’ll like this even more. More than that: if you didn’t liked the 1st, you will like this one instead. Why? I think this second CD “The Further Adventures Of…” is much more solid than the debut from the combo, with and edgy rockin’ vibe akin THIN LIZZY, Seventies QUEEN (just check “Marionette”) and even early Def Leppard.

DOWN 'N' OUTZ  - The Further Adventures Of... [Frontiers Music reissue +2] (2017) back

Additionally, production is more polished and clear, arrangements quite elaborated and overall, all sounds wonderfully melodic. Co-producer Ronan McHugh also plays some bass parts on the album along with guitarist Paul Guerin and Mark ‘Snake’ Luckhurst (ex- THUNDER) who played live with the band in 2011.
This is a welcomed 2017 reissue by Frontiers, including two bonus tracks.
100% Rock ‘n’ Roll – Highly Recommended

01 – Rock ‘n Roll Queen
02 – Stiff Upper Lip
03 – Marionette
04 – One of the Boys
05 – Whizz Kid
06 – Violence
07 – The Journey
08 – Drivin’ Sister
09 – The Original Mixed-Up Kid
10 – Crash Street Kidds
11 – Broadside Outcasts
12 – The Revenge of the Shipwrecked Hedgehog
13 – Sea Diver
14 – One of the Boys [Radio Edit]

Lead Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Percussion – Joe Elliott
Lead & Rhythm Guitars – Paul Guerin
Rhythm Guitars – Guy Griffin
Bass – Paul Guerin, Mark ‘Snake’ Luckhurst, Ronan McHugh
Drums – Phil Martini
Keyboards – Keith Weir


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.