BRIAN McDONALD GROUP – Desperate Business [YesterRock remaster]

BRIAN McDONALD GROUP - Desperate Business [YesterRock remaster] full

Essential in any ’80s AOR collection, “Desperate Business“, the first BRIAN McDONALD GROUP album has been remastered by specialists YesterRock Records in all its glory.
Oh yeah, this gem includes in one single package all the ingredients that any fan of the genre look for; catchy as hell songs, superb choruses, tons of keys, and fantastic melodies all over.

Majestically produced by legend Beau Hill and featuring future Winger / Whitesnake guitar master Reb Beach on all songs, “Desperate Business” delivers 10 Top American AOR / Melodic Rock diamonds.

The ridiculously catchy ‘No Control’ opens the album giving a clear idea of what this album is all about: pumping bass lines, soaring vocals and a driving rhythm exploding into a fantastic chorus. You can hear Reb Beach’s touch since the song initial notes, and that’s why there’s a similarity with Winger’s first album (which would be recorded later).

BRIAN McDONALD GROUP - Desperate Business [YesterRock remaster] booklet

More terrific melodies and layers of harmonies are spread in the following tracks such as ‘These Are The Good Times’ (featuring backing vocals by Fiona Flanagan), ‘Life Is A Desperate Business’ (some Loverboy on it), the faster melodic rocker ‘Back Home Again’ or the elegant AOR of ‘Just Imagination’ (akin Foreigner).

There’s an excellent ballad in the pure ’80s midtempo vein in ‘This Lonely Heart’, and later with the true power ballad ‘Stay With Me’.
The album ends with another pearl; the dynamic, uptempo, rhythmically rich ‘Highway Desire’, crowned by a layered chorus.

BRIAN McDONALD GROUP - Desperate Business [YesterRock remaster] back

No serious AOR / Melodic Rock collection is complete if Brian McDonald Group’s “Desperate Business” is missing.
Easily among the Top-Fifty greatest albums of all time for the genre, this record has all you need to satisfy your thirst of heavenly AOR melodies.
A Must Have Classic.

01 – No Control
02 – These Are The Good Times
03 – This Lonely Heart
04 – Life Is A Desperate Business
05 – Back Home Again
06 – Rockin’ With The Boys
07 – Just Imagination
08 – Stay With Me
09 – Everynight
10 – Highway Desire

Brian McDonald – vocals, keyboards
Will Hodges – guitar, backing vocals
Andrew G. Wilkins – bass
David Adams – drums, percussion, backing vocals

Reb Beach – rhythm guitars, solos
Joe Hunt – guitar solo on 10, backing vocals
David Rosenberg – drum programming
Fiona Flanagan – backing vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.