RAGE – Out Of Control [Rock Candy Remastered & Reloaded] (2015)

RAGE - Out Of Control [Rock Candy Remastered & Reloaded] (2015) full

Rock Candy Records have ‘Remastered & Reloaded‘ the 3 album by British ’80s rockers RAGE, available for the first time on CD, and believe me, all worth your attention.
Rage’s first album was this hard rockin’ “Out Of Control“.

Liverpool most famous export was, undeniably, The Beatles, a band that would become the UK’s most successful musical export. Of lesser impact of course, but much loved on the local scene, were ’70s rock stalwarts Nutz, a band that reached a certain level of success but, ultimately, buckled under numerous financial and business pressures.
However, the one great benefit of that demise was the subsequent birth of Rage, a unit fit for the emerging hard rock explosion being pioneered by the NWOBHM.

Signed to the French based Carerre label, home of Saxon, Rose Tattoo and Dokken, Rage utilised the prevailing zeitgeist of the time, quickly establishing themselves as an influential part of the emerging British Hard Rock scene.

RAGE - Out Of Control [Rock Candy Remastered & Reloaded] (2015) booklet

Their debut album “Out Of Control”, issued in 1981, was produced by man of the moment Pete Hinton (Saxon, Demon) giving the material a contemporary, rough-hewn sheen which garnered great critical reaction and laid the foundations for intensive live work.
Musically, the songs focused on tight riffs and some memorable hard rock hooks, giving vocalist Dave Lloyd a platform to ably demonstrate his range and style.
Look out also for some incredible guitar soloing from Mick Devonport, a man who during his previous tenure with Nutz, had obviously been hiding his talent under a bushel.

RAGE - Out Of Control [Rock Candy Remastered & Reloaded] (2015) back

Material such as ‘I Don’t Wanna Leave’, ‘Money’, ‘Out Of Control’ and ‘Roll The Dice’ perfectly demonstrates why they were seen as one of the UK’s brightest hopes. At the time of its release, the prestigious Kerrang! magazine give the album ‘5 K’.
Thanks to Rock Candy, “Out Of Control” appears for the first time on CD, fully 24-bit remastered and including two bonus tracks, songs recorded when the band was still named Nutz.
A Highly Recommended collectors piece.

01 – Out Of Control
02 – What Have I Done Wrong?
03 – She’s On Fire
04 – Roll The Dice
05 – Fallen Idol
06 – Money
07 – I Don’t Wanna Leave
08 – Rage
09 – Thank That Woman
10 – Double Dealer (bonus track)
11 – Bootliggers (bonus track)

Dave Lloyd – lead vocals, guitar
Mick Devonport – guitars, backing vocals
Keith Mulholland – bass
John Mylett – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.