GUNS N’ ROSES – Not In This Lifetime… Live In Tokyo 2017

GUNS N' ROSES - Not In This Lifetime... Live In Tokyo 2017 full

This not the usual stuff presented in this blog, but we know there’s a lot GUNS N’ ROSES fans ’round here. “Not In This Lifetime… Live In Tokyo 2017” was recorded during the current, world-wide mammoth tour. Sure, it’s a bootleg, but a very good one, well captured and released on a finely printed, double CD jewel case.

Returning to live performance with the founding members vocalist Axl Rose, bassist Duff McKagan and lead guitarist Slash, are Use Your Illusion-era keyboardist Dizzy Reed, rhythm guitarist Richard Fortus, drummer Frank Ferrer and keyboardist Melissa Reese.
Original rhythm guitarist Izzy Stradlin and drummer Steven Adler from the Appetite For Destruction sessions that made the hard rockers a household name did not reunite for this tour.

With a nearly three hour-long setlist spanning all the group’s releases and a major selection of covers ranging from Led Zeppelin to The Who, the shows have been well received all over the world.
This particular show is the one performed at Saitama, Japan, January 28th, 2017.
Note: there’s floating over the internet a recording from the following day show – Saitama, Japan, January 29th –  but sound quality is not so good.

GUNS N' ROSES - Not In This Lifetime... Live In Tokyo 2017 disc photo

Even with all the years of rock-and-roll excess, and even with his bona fide middle aged status, Axl Rose can still sing. Early in the show, his voice is wobbly and just off at certain key moments, but by the time the band hit “Live and Let Die,” about one-third of the way through the show, his voice was all warmed up and continued to rage through the remaining 20-plus songs.
He spouted the first lines of “Welcome to the Jungle” with a conservative halt, a far cry from its original wildcat rasp. But as the show go on, so did his inhibitions. By the time he got to “Used To Love Her” later, he’d found his sweet spot — by no means lithe, but more than recognizable.

Slash still rocks with his characteristic pose behind his signature Ray-Ban aviator and an inky mop of curls, mapping out visionary constellations on the fretboard.
Most Guns N’ Roses hits are here in its 2017 versions, pretty faithful to the originals: “Sweet Child O’ Mine”, “Welcome to the Jungle”, “Paradise City” and “Don’t Cry”, but also inside cuts that all we love such as “Out Ta Get Me”, “Coma” or “Rocket Queen”.

GUNS N' ROSES - Not In This Lifetime... Live In Tokyo 2017 - back

If you’re any kind of Guns N’ Roses fan and you haven’t seen this tour yet, it may be your last chance to ever see this iconic repertoire of music performed live by the people who created it.
I am pretty sure several shows were filmed / recorded, meanwhile this “Not In This Lifetime… Live In Tokyo 2017” is a faithful testimony of GN’R 2017.

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox


Disc 1:
01 – Intro (Looney Tunes – The Equalizer)
02 – It’s So Easy
03 – Mr.Brownstone
04 – Chinese Democracy
05 – Welcome to the Jungle
06 – Double Talkin’ Jive
07 – Better
08 – Estranged
09 – Live and Let Die
10 – Rocket Queen
11 – You Could Be Mine
12 – New Rose
13 – This I Love
14 – Civil War

Disc 2:
01 – Coma
02 – Band Introduction
03 – Speak Softly Love (Love Theme The Godfather)
04 – Sweet Child O’ Mine
05 – Used to Love Her
06 – Out Ta Get Me
07 – Wish You Were Here
08 – November Rain
09 – Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
10 – Nightrain
11 – Don’t Cry
12 – The Seeker
13 – Paradise City

W. Axl Rose – Vocals
Duff Mckagan – Bass
Slash – Guitar
Darren ’Dizzy’ Reed – Keyboards
Richard Fortus – Guitar
Frank Ferrer – Drums
Melissa Reese – Keyboards



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.