UNRULY CHILD – Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD3; UCIII (2017) retail

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD3; UCIII (2017) retail - full

Frontiers Music has released a special box set from UNRULY CHILD, titled “Reigning Frogs – The Box Set Collection”, a limited edition 5CD pack including the rare and hard-to-find releases from the band’s catalog which encompasses their whole independent productions.
In all, five full length studio albums from this excellent Melodic Hard Rock combo founded by guitarist Bruce Gowdy (Stone Fury, World Trade) and drummer Jay Schellen (Hurricane, Asia).

Disc 3 is “UCIII”, an album which sees another Unruly Child incarnation featuring Gowdy with Guy Allison back to the fold and singer Philip Bardowell taking on vocal duties. While slightly more proggy at times, “UCIII” remains in a truly melodic hard rock fashion.

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD3; UCIII (2017) retail - disc

After releasing the darker, heavier and more mature Waiting For The Sun in 1998, Hansen and Schellen went on to reform Hurricane, leaving Gowdy and Allison to find ex-Magdalen new singer Philip Bardowell.
On “UC III” Bardowell’s voice still fits the Unruly Child model, but the man a different approach than Free and Hansen. He boasts a Lou Gramm kind of grit, more classic, bluesy hard rock orientation.

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD3; UCIII (2017) retail - booklet

Opener “Tear Me Down” showcases a more modern sound than any previous Unruly Child track, and other songs like “Kings of Tragedy” and “Vertigo” reflect a more progressive move. Meanwhile, “Bring Me Home” has a classic rock feel, then “Sleeping Town” and the track titled as the band name, “Unruly Child”, hearkens back to the late-Eighties and early-Nineties AOR style from the band’s first album.

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set 2017 - back

This exclusive, limited edition, brand new “Reigning Frogs – The Box Set Collection” is beautifully packaged, not only including an extensive booklet with Unruly Child’s story written by Gowdy, Free and Allison and photos from the archives, but also an individual booklet for each album plus complete lyrics.

The CDs are pressed as Vinyl LP replica, cardboard sleeve, and you have a total of three bonus tracks unreleased outside Japan. This is the retail physical box/CD, not the poor digital version floating around.
A superb Box limited to 1000 copies only worldwide!


01 – Tear Me Down
02 – Falling
03 – All Around Me
04 – Bring Me Home
05 – Sleeping Town
06 – You See Three
07 – Kings of Tragedy
08 – Vertigo
09 – Shades Of Love
10 – Unruly Child
11 – Something
12 – Ruby Tuesday (original Japan Bonus Track)

Philip Bardowell -vocals
Bruce Gowdy – guitars, bass, drums
Guy Allison – keyboards, bass, drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.