UNRULY CHILD – Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD2 The Basement Demos (2017) retail

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set 2017 full

Frontiers Music has released a special box set from UNRULY CHILD, titled “Reigning Frogs – The Box Set Collection”, a limited edition 5CD pack including the rare and hard-to-find releases from the band’s catalog which encompasses their whole independent productions.
In all, five full length studio albums from this excellent Melodic Hard Rock combo founded by guitarist Bruce Gowdy (Stone Fury, World Trade) and drummer Jay Schellen (Hurricane, Asia).

Disc 2 is “The Basement Demos”, which features all the pre-production demos that the band recorded in preparation for their debut, self-titled album for Interscope Records.
This is pure ’80s material, with the then ‘Mark’ Free in full potential after his stint with King Kobra and Signal.

UNRULY CHILD - The Basement Demos - disc

Of course here’s many tracks that ended in Unruly Child’s debut, but sounding quite different from their final versions. All are heavier and slightly rawer.
Mark Free feels loose, the riffs are more edgy, an most the solos are bigger.

These are high quality recordings, not some second generation tape / garage takes.
This CD is like having a different version of Unruly Child’s first album plus extra tracks. Yes, it is that good. ‘Forever’, ‘Is It Over’, ‘Lay Down Your Arms’, etc, all are killer tunes.
This exclusive, limited edition, brand new “Reigning Frogs – The Box Set Collection” is beautifully packaged, not only including an extensive booklet with Unruly Child’s story written by Gowdy, Free and Allison and photos from the archives, but also an individual booklet for each album plus complete lyrics.

UNRULY CHILD - The Basement Demos - booklet

The CDs are pressed as Vinyl LP replica, cardboard sleeve, and you have a total of three bonus tracks unreleased outside Japan. This is the retail physical box/CD, not the poor digital version floating around.
A superb release limited to 1000 copies only worldwide!


CD 2 The Basement Demos 
01 – On the Rise
02 – Rock Me Down Nasty
03 – To Be Your Everything
04 – Lay Down Your Arms
05 – Is It Over
06 – Let’s Talk About Love
07 – Forever
08 – Live in the Night
09 – Unruly Child
10 – Undefeated
11 – Down the Road
12 – Still Believe
13 – The Man Inside
14 – Live Without Love
15 – True Love

Mark Free – Vocals
Bruce Gowdy – Guitars
Guy Allison – Keyboards
Larry Antonio – Bass
Jay Schellen – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.