UNRULY CHILD – Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD1 Waiting For The Sun (2017) retail

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set 2017 full

Frontiers Music has released a special box set from UNRULY CHILD, titled “Reigning Frogs – The Box Set Collection”, a limited edition 5CD pack including the rare and hard-to-find releases from the band’s catalog which encompasses their whole independent productions.
In all, five full length studio albums from this excellent Melodic Hard Rock combo founded by guitarist Bruce Gowdy (Stone Fury, World Trade) and drummer Jay Schellen (Hurricane, Asia).

Disc 1 is “Waiting For The Sun”, which was originally released in 1998 and featured the line-up of singer Kelly Hansen (ex-Hurricane, now fronting Foreigner), Gowdy and Schellen – with special guest Ricky Phillips of Styx / Bad English on bass.

This is Unruly Child’s second album, appeared in a time when this type of music was out of the charts and American music industry ignored. Fortunately legendary German label MTM released “Waiting For The Sun”, but of course it’s out of print now.
Original Unruly Child vocalist Marcie Free was busy with a solo career, so Jay Schellen called his former Hurricane bandmate Kelly Hansen (currently fronting Foreigner) for the mic slot.

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD1 Waiting For The Sun (2017) retail - disc

The material here is more ‘rocking’ than the band’s major label debut, with killer numbers such as ‘Do You Ever Think of Me’, ‘Still Believe’ or ‘Why Should I Care’. This easily could be a Hurricane album disguised as an Unruly Child release.
But my favorite is without a doubt is ‘Rise Up’, a terrific AOR / MR song, among the best recorded in the genre during the ’90s.

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set; CD1 Waiting For The Sun (2017) booklet

All over the entire album there’s guest vocal appeareances from David Glen Eisley (ex Giuffria), Cherie Curie of Girlschool, the late Ray Gillen (Badlands), Jeff Pilson (ex Dokken, Foreigner), but it’s Kelly Hansen who steals the show.
Awesome album.

UNRULY CHILD - Reigning Frogs Box Set 2017 - back

This exclusive, limited edition, brand new “Reigning Frogs – The Box Set Collection” is beautifully packaged, not only including an extensive booklet with Unruly Child’s story written by Gowdy, Free and Allison and photos from the archives, but also an individual booklet for each album plus complete lyrics.

The CDs are pressed as Vinyl LP replica, cardboard cleeve, and you have a total of three bonus tracks unreleased outside Japan. This is the retail physical box/CD, not the poor digital version floating around.
A superb release limited to 1000 copies only worldwide!


CD 1: Waiting For The Sun
01 – Heart Run Free
02 – Rise Up
03 – Why Should I Care
04 – Forever
05 – Man Inside
06 – Do You Ever Think of Me
07 – Still Believe
08 – To the Cross
09 – Fool Again
10 – Live in the Night
11 – Waiting for the Sun
12 – World of Difference (original Japan bonus track)

Kelly Hansen – vocals, guitar
Bruce Gowdy – guitars, keyboards, bass
Jay Schellen – drums, percussion
Ricky Phillips – bass



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.