THE NIGHTS – The Nights (2017)

THE NIGHTS - The Nights (2017) full

THE NIGHTS are releasing their debut “The Nights” on Frontiers Music this week, a strong combo from Finland delivering a superb mixture of classic melodic rock melodies and a modern punchy production.
The Nights formed in the summer of 2015 when Sami Hyde (vocals) and Ilkka Wirtanen (guitar) brought their musical talents together with the common need and desire to write songs that “make you feel good and also give tribute to our everlasting heroes in hard rock music”.

Both Sami and Ilkka have established careers in music in both Finland and abroad. Sami has been a singer for a variety of acts and projects, including the Tony Mills Band. Additionally, he has written songs for many artists, including mighty melodic rockers The Magnificent.
Ilkka Wirtanen is best known for his work as a producer with international acts like glam rockers Reckless Love, for whom he has produced four albums and co-written many of their more well-known songs.

You know you’re in for a treat straight off the mark with ‘Welcome to the Show.’ Hyde’s voice takes you back to those days when Whitesnake and Def Leppard were at the heights of their career. The opening riff eases you into the track before it takes a heavy twist and will have you tapping your foot.
‘Elegy (You Should Be Here)’ gives us a more mid-paced song, showing the variety this band has to offer. With a catchy chorus and the beautiful sounds of Wirtanen’s electric guitar, this is a fantastic track. Throw on the background rain and we could be transported back to those late ’80s and early ’90s days.

THE NIGHTS - The Nights (2017) inside

‘Juliette’ is another delicious track from the album that gives you that feel-good vibe. With a strong drum beat making the backbone, the guitar sits perfectly with it to create this melodic poppy feel that the band portrays so well. The chorus will definitely have you singing along and moving to the beat.
Every track on the album showcases the immense skills this band has to offer, with well-written lyrics and humming guitar riffs & solos. Check out ‘Nothing but Love’ and ‘Hold On’ for more highlights.
This as a whole is an exceptionally well put together album that shows the years of experience these guys have.

“The Nights” (the album) delivers that lovely mixture of classic Melodic Hard Rock hooks with poppy AOR melodies wrapped in the Scandinavian style. However, The Nights are quite different from their country fellas adding a British textbook to the songwriting, plus some American feel here and there.
The honey-like choruses and melodies are rich, but some edgy guitars and a classic rock sense add a unique touch to the album.
A welcomed surprise to your Melodic Hard Rock collection.
HIGHLY Recommended

01 – Welcome to the Show
02 – Nothing but Love
03 – Juliette
04 – I Will Never Stop Loving You
05 – In a Blink of an Eye
06 – Hold On
07 – Elegy (You Should Be Here)
08 – Take Me to Heaven
09 – You Belong to Me Tonight
10 – I Wanna Be Your Superhero
11 – We Can Rule the World Tonight

Sami Hyde – vocals
Ilkka Wirtanen – guitars
Jan-Erik Iivari – drums, percussion
Harri Kokkonen – electric, acoustic and fretless bass

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.