ENUFF Z’NUFF – Covered In Gold (retail)

ENUFF Z'NUFF - Covered In Gold - full

Celebrating their 30 years as one of the hardest-working bands in show business, ENUFF Z’NUFF decided to record “Covered In Gold”, the 13th studio creation from this long-running, peace-hair metal band fronted by Donnie Vie & Chip Znuff.
As you easily figured out, this is a a heartfelt salute to the music and artists who inspired them over the course of their three-decade career.

Produced by Donnie & Chip with a really melodic direction, in “Covered In Gold” the listeners are treated to 13 cover songs, ranging from a loose reading of Nirvana’s “All Apologies” to a raging hair metal sendup of Smokey Robinson’s “Tears of a Clown”, with Enuff Z’nuff sounding like 1989.

ENUFF Z'NUFF - Covered In Gold - disc

I also loved their take on David Lee Roth’s hit “Yankee Rose” and a rocking version of Queen’s classic “Stone Cold Crazy”. The band also tackles tunes by The Cult, Billy Squier, The Beatles (of course), and a host of other widely divergent artists, including Prince.
For good measure, the band throws in a live, unplugged version of one of their best-known hits, 1989’s “New Thing”, recorded in London.

ENUFF Z'NUFF - Covered In Gold - back

Although not presenting own new material, “Covered In Gold” is a really good ENUFF Z’NUFF record showing that after +30 years, the band is alive & kicking, and in great form.
It’s a fine showcase of this group’s incredibly diverse yet supremely melodic sensibility, with catchy arrangements and fluid playing.

01. Everything Works If You Let It (CHEAP TRICK cover)
02. Stone Cold Crazy (QUEEN cover)
03. She Sells Sanctuary (THE CULT cover)
04. All Apologies (NIRVANA cover)
05. Believe It Or Not (The Greatest American Hero theme)
06. The Jean Genie (DAVID BOWIE cover)
07. Run For Your Life (THE BEATLES cover)
08. When Doves Cry (PRINCE cover)
09. Tears Of A Clown (SMOKEY ROBINSON cover)
10. The Stroke (BILLY SQUIER cover)
11. Yankee Rose (DAVID LEE ROTH cover)
12. Jealous Guy (JOHN LENNON cover)
Bonus Tracks:
13. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away (Howard Stern Show)
14. New Thing (live unplugged in London)

Donnie Vie – Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards
Chip Znuff – Bass, Guitar, Vocals
Eric Donner – Drums
Johnny Monaco – Guitar, Vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.