THAT ROCK GUY – Nothin’ To Lose (2017)

BLACK ACES - Shot In The Dark [European CD version +3] (2016) full

THAT ROCK GUY is Adam Barclay, an Australian singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and producer. He’s also a guy who’s played in a multitude of bands, done lots of session work, and just finished touring nearly the entire world. Surprisingly, and mostly unheard of, he’s done the latter without the support of a single studio album of his own material. Until now. Word has gotten around to the right people.
That Rock Guy has signed with Germany’s AOR Heaven Records for the release of his debut album, “Nothin’ To Lose“, which appears today June 30.

Mr. Barclay writes and performs, essentially, Eighties classic melodic hard rock, often with a sharper edge, but also plenty of AOR atmosphere and a melodic rock accessibility.
To start, his songwriting skills are exceptional. He crafts songs with an abundance of melody and harmony, largely coming from the vocal arrangements and guitar lines.

As a vocalist, Barclay has something of raspy texture to his melodic and clean vocals. The guitar lines are brisk and sharp, giving his songs that aforementioned edge. And Barclay lays down some impressive solos, playing that fret board like a six string guitar hero.
If you like guitar forward melodic hard rock, you will enjoy this album.

With that essential melody and harmony, Barclay also powers his songs with a deep and powerful rhythm and groove. Additionally, while he does it with clean melodies, he also knows a song has to turn on a hook, and uses the turn of a riff or a catchy refrain to do so.
For something with a thick rock groove and stronger edge look to ‘Can’t Get Enough Of You’, ‘Bring On The Night’, or ‘One Shot In A Million’. With that last song, don’t get tricked by its slight gentle start. It’s a powerful rocker.

With ‘Your Dreams Are Keeping Us Together’ you get something of an arena ready anthem as it turns on a fine vocal arrangement, irresistible groove, and a catchy chorus.
Finally what’s 80s melodic rock / AOR without some ballads. ‘Without You’ and ‘Never Gonna Say Goodbye’ deliver the goods, with the latter having more of that AOR smoothness. And a killer guitar solo.

That Rock Guy may be a ‘one man band’, but darn, it sounds really awesome. “Nothin’ To Lose” it’s all good, every song is a keeper, catchy, rocking and melodic.
In this debut CD, Adam Barclay / That Rock Guy offers an exceptional and entertaining album of classic Melodic Hard Rock.
HIGHLY Recommended

01 – Superstar
02 – Your Dreams Are Keeping Us Together
03 – Through the Night
04 – One Shot in a Million
05 – Never Gonna Say Goodbye
06 – Bring on the Night
07 – Can’t Get Enough of You
08 – Nothin’ to Lose
09 – Without You
10 – Land of the Rising Sun

Adam Barclay: all vocals and instruments.


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.