T’PAU – The Virgin Anthology [CD4 – The Promise remastered + B-Sides] (2017)

T'PAU - The Virgin Anthology [CD4 - The Promise remastered + B-Sides] (2017) full

After the huge success of the ‘Bridge of Spies’ Remastered Expanded Edition (featured on this blog) Universal Music / Virgin Records have been working on a follow-up release titled “T’Pau – The Virgin Anthology 4CD Box Set“, to coincide with the 30 year Anniversary of the band blasting on to the music scene making their mark overseas as well as at home in the United Kingdom.

“T’Pau – The Virgin Anthology” includes 4 discs housed in an extremely impressive Super Deluxe Edition box set that brings together two discs of rare remixes and edits (singles and associated tracks) across all three Virgin albums along with half a dozen demo recordings from the band’s heyday.
A couple of further CDs include the final two (Virgin) albums ‘Rage’ and ‘The Promise’, remastered & expanded versions with bonus tracks appended.

The 4th and final CD in this Anthology includes a digitally remasteredThe Promise‘ which made the top ten back in June 1991 and went gold. This album was very underrated back in the day.
In typical T’Pau style, this album features an again diverse plethora of tunes. You’ve got a catchy dance number that opens the CD called ‘Soul Destruction.’

T'PAU - The Virgin Antholog discs pic

Then the oh-so compulsory ballads including ‘Only A Heartbeat’ and ‘A Place In My Heart’, and midtempos ‘Whenever You Need Me,’ ‘Walk on Air,’ ‘Hold On To Love,’
And where would a T’Pau album be without a track with a syncopated sequence on; well you’ve got two: ‘Strange Place’ and ‘One Direction.’
‘Whenever You Need Me’ gave the band a higher chart position than before the second album ‘Rage’.

The three B-Sides included on this disc are ‘All The Love,’ ‘Dirty Town’ and ‘Hold On To Love (Acoustic)’.
‘All The Love’ is another example of a song that has only been on cassette / vinyl so it will be great having this track on CD for the first time, as it’s such a great tune.

Disc 4 : ‘The Promise’ remastered + B-Sides

01 – Soul Destruction
02 – Whenever You Need Me
03 – Walk On Air
04 – Made Of Money
05 – Hold On To Love
06 – Strange Place
07 – One Direction
08 – Only A Heartbeat
09 – The Promise
10 – A Place In My Heart
11 – Man And Woman
12 – Purity
13 – All The Love (B-Side)
14 – Dirty Town (B-Side)
15 – Hold On To Love (Acoustic) (B-Side)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.