NASTY CRUE – Riots In Heaven (2017)

NASTY CRUE - Riots In Heaven (2017) full

To be released tomorrow March 2, “Riots In Heaven” is the full length debut by NASTY CRUE, a Polish incarnation of the ’80s L.A. Sunset Strip. Take a quick look at the band’s image and unsurprisingly, indeed the 4-piece are a bastard child of ‘80s US scene.
But while their debut ep was a pale glam-infused / sleaze collection of songs – hence, not featured here on the blog – the guys have evolved to a more hard rocking outfit driven by sharp riffs, still retaining a sleaze touch but much more melodic and consistent.

From the start with ‘Cabin in the Woods’ and title track ‘Riots in Heaven’, the guys showcase a solid songwriting with echoes of LA Guns, Britny Fox, Motley Crue, etc, but adding, as happens on the former, some keyboards to turn things more melodious.

The funnily titled ‘What Happens on Backstage Stays on Backstage’ rocks with an intense groove, ‘Movie Star’ delivers a welcomed broken riff providing darkness, then ‘Crime Wave’ has a modern hard feel furnishing even more variation.

NASTY CRUE - Riots In Heaven (2017) inside

‘Lynchburg Tennessee’ is an arena anthem with some Warrant on it, ‘Make Some Noise’ has a highly melodic main line, on ‘Friday Night Fever’ Nasty Crue add a heavy-funk touch with bit of Extreme, whilst ‘Johnny & Mary’ come from the early Enuff Z’Nuff songwriting book.
They end the record with an acoustic piece, ‘Find My Way’, not a ballad but another nice side from the Nasty Crue 2017.

As you see above, “Riots In Heaven” is a varied debut album by Nasty Crue always revolving around the late ’80s Hollywood sound.
There’s some really good tunes and solid songwriting, and while the 4-piece still need that ‘extra punch’ on crafting memorable choruses, the album is pretty enjoyable as a whole.
Very promising band, worth giving it a try.

01 – Cabin in the Woods
02 – Riots in Heaven
03 – What Happens on Backstage…
04 – Movie Star
05 – Crime Wave
06 – Lynchburg Tennessee
07 – Make Some Noise
08 – Hero
09 – Friday Night Fever
10 – Johnny & Mary
11 – Find My Way

J.J. (Jøn Jøndrensen) – vocals
Peter Shuffle – guitar
Paulie Skørvensën – bass
Mintæy 69 – drums, backing vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.