TOKYO – Fasten Seat Belts [Yesterrock remaster +5]

TOKYO - Fasten Seat Belts [Yesterrock remaster +5]

YesterRock Records has remastered all the 3 first ’80s albums by German AOR pioneers TOKYO, and their second effort, the awesomely titled “Fasten Seat Belts” is one of their best.
Not only the title is good, the music is even better delivering some true consistent AOR Melodic Rock tunes in the best Euro Eighties fashion.

Fans (like me) of the adorable classic keyboard driven AOR will love “Fasten Seat Belts”. There’s tons of very well produced catchy songs, sometimes treading the Melodic Rock ground with precise guitars and a sonically solid rhythm section.
All are good, being the highlights “Dreamer” and “World of Promises” – seriously I would buy this album just for these two songs alone.

If that’s not enough, we have a newly recorded version of the first single “Keiko” plus other four previously unreleased bonus tracks; “Rainy Days”, “Who Will Stop The Rain”, “Turn Off The Light” and “Mama”.
All are pre-production demos (with very good sound) that were recorded during the late ’80s, and sees the band exploring a more Lite AOR territory.

TOKYO - Fasten Seat Belts [Yesterrock remaster] back

Tokyo certainly appear to experiencing something of a resurgence at the moment and listening to this album it’s easy to see why.
Before the strong heat wave of AOR bands began to sweep the world, this five piece German band commanded by Robby Musenbichler was already swinging with two studio albums in 1982.
These recent reissues have even been enough for AOR Magazine to run a huge feature spread on a band that deserves to be discovered by new generations, and why not, veterans who missed them.
Highly Recommended.

01 – Keiko
02 – Spell On You
03 – Dreamer
04 – Feel Right
05 – World Of Promises
06 – Dreaming Of You
07 – Hearts Of Steel
08 – Get It All Night Long
09 – Bliss
10 – Give Me Power
11 – Lady
12 – Keiko [New Version]
13 – Rainy Days
14 – Who Will Stop The Rain
15 – Turn Off The Light
16 – Mama

Robby Musenbichler – guitar, vocals
Klaus Luley – guitar, vocals
Ken Taylor – bass, vocals
Lothar Krell – keyboards, vocals
Fritz Matzka – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.