ALYSON AVENUE – Presence Of Mind [Yesterrock remastered]


Presence Of Mind” was the debut of ALYSON AVENUE, out of print for many years until YesterRock remastered the whole thing for a deserved reissue.
Formed in Sweden in 1989, ALYSON AVENUE originally was a male fronted band when backing singer Anette Olzon took over the mike duties for this debut CD. Her impressive pipes lead in years to come being named as the vocalist for Nightwish.

But Presence Of Mind has nothing in common with Nightwish, this is pure ’80s inspired melodic rock / AOR with the typical Swedish flavor.
All songs are really good packing all we love about this genre; melody galore, glorious keys, cutting edge guitars, pulsing bass lines and the stellar vocals of Anette. So rich, full, and powerful.
It appears that a number of different musicians have contributed to the album, but it doesn’t disrupt the flow at all, which is as stunning to start off with, as it is to end with.

Take a listen to the brilliant opener ‘Free Like The Wind’, and those killer lead vocals. Impressive.
‘Every Now & Then’ pulses along with strong guitar lines and keyboard tinklings everywhere. ‘Lost & Lonely’ is another powerful guitar based track.
‘One Desperate Heart’ is primetime Tone Norum-like, ‘Its In Your Eyes’ is a clear and powerful ballad absolutely swimming with keyboard layers then ‘Without Your Love’ has great commercial appeal, rich choruses and catchy hooks.

ALYSON AVENUE - Presence Of Mind [Yesterrock remastered] back

“Presence Of Mind” is one of the best AOR / MR albums appeared during the resurgence of the genre fifteen years ago. But more; is one of the finest female-fronted ever recorded in way only Swedes can do it.
Think a mix of Heart, Saraya, Witness, and speaking of Scandi AOR in general, there’s some early Alien on the guitar riffs.
Alyson Avenue’s “Presence Of Mind” is absolutely essential for any fan of female-fronted rock, and this YesterRock remastered reissue is the one to get for sure.
A Must

01 – Free Like The Wind
02 – Every Now & Then
03 – Lost & Lonely
04 – Tell Me You Love Me (Or Leave Me)
05 – One Desperate Heart
06 – Call Out My Name
07 – Walk Away
08 – It’s In Your Eyes
09 – Without Your Love
10 – All This Time
11 – One Touch

Anette Blyckert – vocals, background vocals
Niclas Olsson – keyboards, background vocals
Jarmo Piiroinen – guitars
Thomas Loyska – bass, acoustic guitar
Roger Landin – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.