FLESH & BLOOD (Danny Vaughn) – Blues For Daze [remastered 2015]

FLESH & BLOOD (Danny Vaughn) - Blues For Daze [remastered 2015] full

After the recently featured here reissue of Mark Mangold’s The Sign two albums, one of you asked for his project FLESH & BLOOD and its only album titled “Blues For Daze“. Well, as happened with The Sign, Mangold himself remastered the album last year to celebrate its 20th Anniversary and made it available again after years out of print.

FLESH & BLOOD was a short-lived but amazing super-group put together by Mangold after his 3 AOR albums with Drive She Said, looking for a more rocking, bluesy-based sound.
Alongside Mark Mangold on keyboards there’s the awesome Danny Vaughn (Tyketto) on vocals, Al Pitrelli (Savatage, Joe Lynn Turner, Alice Cooper) on guitar, Chuck Bonfante (Saraya, Drive She Said) on drums and Mitch DeStefano on bass.
Wow, that’s what I call a true super-group of talented cats.

FLESH & BLOOD’s “Blues For Daze” is indeed a bluesy-based hard rock / classic rock affair mixing upbeat rockers and atmospheric midtempo / ballads with more than a hint of AOR / Melodic Rock.
It has something for everyone; inspired songwriting and classy keyboards from Mark Mangold, superlative guitars from Al Pitrelli, a rock-solid rhythm section courtesy of Chuck Bonfante and DeStefano, topped off amazingly by Danny Vaughn’s fantastic vocals.

The band started the recording of the album without a record label pressure, so you can clearly feel how all musicians are enjoying the sessions.
This resulted in a truly ‘flesh & blood’ album coming from the heart, played by all involved with real passion for this rootsy rock, without a doubt, the seminal style which shaped their formative years as musicians.

Vaughn & Co. rock out to “Feel the Power”, “Shake Your Tail Feather”, title track “Blues For Daze” and “I Know Where You Been”, then chill out for the beautiful “Bed of Roses”, “Jenny Doesn’t Live Here Anymore” (love this track) and “Man Enough”.
And if you aren’t drumming your fingers within seconds to the intro of “Boogie Chile”, you just aren’t human!
Closer “Judgement Day” is another winner, which reminds me lyrically, but also from a musical point of view to the also shortly existed Badlands.

FLESH & BLOOD (Danny Vaughn) - Blues For Daze [remastered 2015] back

Recorded in the mid-Nineties, “Blues For Daze” was not exactly the kind of music in vogue for the American recording industry, but the small J-Bird label showed interest and released the album, also issued in UK by the (now defunct) Now & Then Records.
However, it was a limited edition and FLESH & BLOOD’s “Blues For Daze” became an out of print collectors piece.
This is an awesome rockin’ CD, and if you enjoyed the recent Tyketto album you must hear Danny Vaughn’s astonishing performance here.
HIGHLY Recommended

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – Feel The Power
02 – Shake Ya Tail Feather
03 – Bed Of Roses
04 – Boogie Chile
05 – Riverside
06 – Jenny Doesn’t Live Here Anymore
07 – I Know Where You Been
08 – Voodoo Moon
09 – Blues For Daze
10 – Man Enough
11 – Sweet Sister Rose
12 – Judgment Day

Danny Vaughn (Tyketto) – vocals
Al Pitrelli (Joe Lynn Turner, Alice Cooper) – guitars
Mark Mangold – keyboards, vocals
Mitch DeStefano – bass
Chuck Bonfante (Saraya, Drive She Said) – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.