Y&T – Earthquake The A&M Years 81-85; Earthshaker [remastered] (2013)

BLACK ACES - Shot In The Dark [European CD version +3] (2016) full

As requested by many, here it it “Earthshaker” from the box-set “Y&T – Earthquake The A&M Years 81-85“, a must have remastered pack from the most brilliant era of Dave Meniketti’s band.
At the very end of 2013 and almost unnoticed, there was a box-set release from one of the essential bands from the first half of the ’80s: Y&T, entitled “Earthquake: The A&M Years 1981-1985”.
You get 7 albums spread over 4 discs, a terrific collection with all the material Remastered for an exceptional value for money.

Y&T - Earthquake The A&M Years 81-85 back cover

Yes, many would prefer every album in one single disc, but this way you have a glossy edition packaged in the old style ‘fat’ box, an extensive booklet in exceptional print quality with detailed info, and the most important; a superb sound remastered by Andy Pearce, all for less than 25 U$D it’s a steal.

“Earthshaker” was Y&T’s first album for A&M and the first under their current name, after changing it from Yesterday and Today used on the two prior records.
This record changed everything for Meniketti & Co., with a polished production (yet still retaining a quite metalized sound) and full of radio-friendly hooks.

Y&T - Earthquake The A&M Years 81-85; Earthshaker [remastered] (2013) inside

The whole album standouts driven by hot riffs, even present on the ballsy power ballad “I Believe In You”, a reference for just about every hair metal to come in the way of crafting their power ballads.

The remaster on “Earthshaker” is excellent as on all the albums in this box, particularly this one rescues Phil Kenmore’s vocals which were too much buried in mix on several tracks.
We Highly Recommend this awesome box “Earthquake: The A&M Years 1981-1985”, including 7 albums for the price of two, with a monster remastering work and a fantastic packaging.

01 – Hungry For Rock
02 – Dirty Girl
03 – Shake It Loose
04 – Squeeze
05 – Rescue Me
06 – Young And Tough
07 – Hurricane
08 – Let Me Go
09 – Knock You Out
10 – I Believe In You

Dave Meniketti – vocals, guitar
Joey Alves – guitar, vocals
Phil Kennemore – bass, vocals
Leonard Haze – drums, vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.