REDS’COOL – Press Hard (2015-2016)

REDS'COOL - Press Hard - full

This is another request of a pretty hard to find CD; the last REDS’COOL album titled “Press Hard“. Originally released last year, it suffered from some distribution trouble and added to the fact the album it’s only being released on physical CD (no digital download) it turned quite ‘rare’.

We were already pleased by the Reds’Cool previous album (produced by Michael Wagener) featured here three years ago, but this new “Press Hard” is even better on all departments.
Reds’Cool are from Russia, but they are established in UK for easy operation and has been touring with UFO, Gotthard, Doro Pesch, Royal Hunt, and many more.
They look set to cement their place in worldwide fans’ hearts with this damn fine second album recorded last year with the help of Davy Vain (Vain, the glammy band) on some tracks production.
And now been given a deserved global release.

Reds’Cool are very much steeped in the classic British Hard Rock vibe from the second half of the ’80s, melodic and polished in the vein of Burning Rain, Whitesnake 87, Gotthard, etc.
Slava Aleksanov’s deep, rich vocals add a little swagger to the music turning it, at places, really Melodic Hard Rock oriented.
The guitars of Ilja Smirnov and Sergei Fedotov possess plenty of crunch, and the duo produce an impressive series of harmonic interplays and melodies across all of the album’s nine tracks, while the rhythm section of Dima Pronin and Andrey Kruglov are suitably tight, with both producing some neat and subtle fills in between the riffs and leading into the bridge sections of the likes of ‘Strangers Eyes’.

REDS'COOL - Press Hard - inside

“Press Hard” has one foot very firmly planted in the ’80s – hell, even the artwork references that era – but there is a freshness and vigour to it which makes it more than a mere homage but an album which is vibrant, relevant and entertaining.
Very, very good band, solid classic Melodic Hard Rock songs & playing and a bright production second to none.
HIGHLY Recommended

01 – Dangerous One
02 – My Way
03 – The Way I Am
04 – Brand New Start
05 – Strangers Eyes
06 – Call Me
07 – One Night
08 – Love Behind
09 – No More

Slava “Spark” Aleksanov – vocals
Sergey Fedotov – guitar
Ilya “Lu” Smirnov – guitar, backing vocals
Dmitry “Dee” Pr0nin – bass, backing vocals
Andrey Kruglov – drums
guest musicians:
Andrey Dubrovin – keyboards (5,6)
Jack Benzin – guitar (5), backing vocals (2,3,6)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.