THE QUIREBOYS – A Bit Of What You Fancy [20th Anniversary Edition Remastered +8]

THE QUIREBOYS - A Bit Of What You Fancy [20th Anniversary Edition Remastered +8] full

THE QUIREBOYS are about to release their new album in a couple of weeks and one of you asked for the band’s debut “A Bit Of What You Fancy“, their more popular record in its 20th Anniversary Remastered Edition including a lot of bonus tracks.

Where do you start with such a monumental release? Was it really twenty years ago? Oh God, how time flies when you’re enjoying yourself. This long since deleted release gets the Anniversary bonus track & remastered treatment, and truly deserved it.
Just open the box, slip it in the player and crank it up.
Let’s be honest here, these Northern monkeys with a bag full of good-time tunes certainly knew how to enjoy themselves and were rightfully successful at a time when the Americans were cleaning up the rock ‘n’ roll market.

These cats looked great and sounded better; from the opening honky-tonk of ‘7 O’ Clock’ with its wonderful mantra, through the sleazy rock ‘n’ roll riff of ‘Man On the Loose’ and the cool, smouldering ‘Whippin’ Boy’, all the way to the top of the popstastic ‘Hey You’ and the terrific sexy ballad ‘I Don’t Love You Anymore’, these boys were everything that was great in music.
Besides the quality music, they seemed to be having an absolute ball carving out support slots and destroying the likes of Aerosmith, the Reading Festival, even Donington buckled to The Quireboys as they gained fans with a thirst for their style and craft.

THE QUIREBOYS - A Bit Of What You Fancy [20th Anniversary Edition Remastered +8] back

This expanded 20-song offering is as good as it got when originally released in 1990 and still, to this day, stands tall as a phenomenal debut album and even if you owned it on vinyl or CD, this “A Bit Of What You Fancy Remastered Edition” is a must as it sounds much more vibrant, punchy. And you have the really interesting early versions of most of these great tunes as bonus.
Any youngsters reading who might not be aware of the band and particularly this record, go get it – it’s a bloody classic and one you’ll be proud to own.

01 – 7 O’Clock
02 – Man On The Loose
03 – Whippin’ Boy
04 – Sex Party
05 – Sweet Mary Ann
06 – I Don’t Love You Anymore
07 – Hey You
08 – Misled
09 – Long Time Comin’
10 – Roses & Rings
11 – There She Goes Again
12 – Take Me Home
13 – 7 O’Clock (demo)
14 – Man On The Loose (demo)
15 – I Don’t Love You Anymore (demo)
16 – Hey You (demo)
17 – Misled (demo)
18 – Long Time Comin’ (demo)
19 – Roses & Rings (demo)
20 – Take Me Home (demo)

Spike – vocals
Guy Bailey, Guy Griffin – guitars
Nigel Mogg – bass
Ian Wallace – drums
Chris Johnstone – keyboards
Additional musicians;
Kevin Savigan – string arrangement
Lee Thornberg – brass
Myrna Mathews, Clydene Jackson, Julia Walters – background vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.