JOHN KAYE & THE OVERLORDS – Terminal Heat (2016)

JOHN KAYE & THE OVERLORDS - Terminal Heat (2016) full

Fronted by vocalist & songwriter John Kaye, US rockers JOHN KAYE & THE OVERLORDS are releasing their debut “Terminal Heat“, a ovely record inspired by the Classic Rock sounds from the Seventies and American Melodic Rock of the Eighties.

Kaye and the guys are not newcomers at all. The vocalist has been in the US West Coast rock scene for more than twenty five years, playing in many bands an currently fronting a Steppenwolf tribute band as well. A popular performer in Las Vegas, Kaye was inducted into the ‘Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame’ there in 2011.
But The Overlord’s ace up its sleeve is guitarist John Huldt, the true ‘musical director’ in this band. Also the arranger & producer, his riffs and guitar tone define the melodic sheen all of the tracks on “Terminal Heat”, not to mention his quite awesome solos.

With Kaye’s slightly raspy but warm vocals the classic rocker ‘Hold Out’ open the record with a guitar driven punch, followed by one of my favorites, ‘Just A Little’ and its infectious riff and sweet chorus.
‘Long Night’ is another highlight, the kind of radio-ready melodic rock tunes that FM radio waves spread during the ’80s all over America, then the solid midtempo ‘It Ain’t Love’ even adds an AOR feel with its lovely refrain and superb solo by Huldt.

JOHN KAYE & THE OVERLORDS - Terminal Heat (2016) inside

More steady rockers come in the form of the Seventies influenced ‘Riders Of The Knight’, the jumpin’ and almost danceable ‘Let Me Take You Down’, and another favorite here, the melodic rock of ‘Big Mistake’ plenty of great harmonies and sharp riffs.
John Kaye & The Overlords also deliver fine ballads in ‘Is It The Shame?’ creating really cool atmospheres, and the middle-of-the-road ‘Wicked Man’ in a style similar to Bon Jovi’s Wanted Dead Or Alive.

Indie managed but with tons of professionalism, John Kaye & The Overlords “Terminal Heat” is a delectable slice of US classic rock / melodic rock played from the heart and produced with attention to detail.
Catchy songs, fine arrangements and an overall feel-good vibe are the core of these 12 solid, highly enjoyable tracks.
Strongly Recommended

01 – Hold Out
02 – Just A Little
03 – Have I Told You Lately I Love You
04 – Long Night
05 – It Ain’t Love
06 – Riders Of The Knight
07 – When You Hold Me
08 – Let Me Take You Down
09 – Wicked Man
10 – Big Mistake
11 – Is It The Shame?
12 – You’re So Bad

John Kaye – vocals, bass
John Huldt – guitars, backing vocals, producer, arranger
Harlan Spector – keyboards, backing vocals
Paul Jones – bass, guitar
Tim Luce – add. guitar
Kyle Rector – drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.