GOV’T MULE – The Tel-Star Sessions (2016)

GOV'T MULE - The Tel-Star Sessions (2016) full

Tomorrow August 5, 2016, Evil Teen Records will release a GOV’T MULE‘s album “The Tel-Star Sessions” containing never-before-released tracks the band recorded at Florida’s Tel-Star Studios in June of 1994. Their debut self-titled album would later come out in October of 1995.
The 10 songs on the release feature the original lineup of Warren Haynes (guitar, vocals), Allen Woody (bass), and Matt Abts (drums). For those unfamiliar with Gov’t Mule, the band came together while Warren and Woody were in the Allman Brothers Band. Woody passed away in 2000, but the band has continued on and hasn’t shown any signs of slowing down.

In the world of bluesy classic rock Gov’t Mule are kings but there was a time when they were mere pretenders to the throne. This release provides a look back to where it all began.
“The Tel-Star Sessions” consists of 10 tracks that formed the band’s very first recordings. They have been mixed and mastered anew however the rawness and energy of those early days are still clearly heard and, if anything, enhanced.
This was the original line-up of Warren Haynes, Allen Woody & Matt Abts. It was the line-up for the first three studio albums and is still considered by many to be the definitive Gov’t Mule. Allen Woody tragically passed away in 2000 at the age of 44, and his place was eventually taken for a while by former Black Crowes bassist Andy Hess.

Originally the band was created as a side project for Haynes & Woody whilst on downtime from the Allman Brothers Band and they could not have foreseen the influence and the longevity of the band 20 years on. Drummer Abts was a former bandmate of Haynes in the Dickey Betts Band and was an immediate natural fit for the southern jam rock stylings of the band.

The soulful but hard-hitting “Blind Man In The Dark” is the opener and it would become one of their signature tracks over the years. The quality of the musicianship is evident from the off and although it differs markedly from the eventual album version (on 1998’s Dose), it does display the original grit and intensity of it’s origins.
“Rocking Horse” is a track penned with Haynes & Woody’s dayjob partners Gregg Allman and Jack Pearson. It’s a down and dirty blues rock number that allows for some Haynes guitar wizardry inbetween the pounding groove and rhythmic backbeats.

GOV'T MULE - The Tel-Star Sessions (2016) inside

Two covers are included on the album, the first is a slow funked-up version of Free’s classic “Mr. Big” that stays true to the original but is given added punch by the talented trio, and then ZZ-Top get a Mule kick to the face with their rendition of the Texan’s classic “Just Got Paid”.
There are two versions of “World of Difference” to savour and it may be down to the connoisseur amongst you to find all the subtle changes but both interpretations hit the target. The distorted vocals of “Monkey Hill” add another dimension to a hard blues stomp that sounds the dirtiest thing this side of the swamp.

As Gov’t Mule’s first foray into the studio as a band this “The Tel-Star Sessions” stands as a very fine testament as an opening glimpse into the workings of a band that would come to stand out amongst their peers and define, then re-define, the bluesy classic rock landscape.
The collection of songs on this release are a fantastic look at the early days of a band that would go on to tour the world and headline music festivals. The tunes are gritty and each band member’s playing explodes with passion and authenticity.
Classic Rock at its best.

01 – Blind Man In The Dark
02 – Rocking Horse
03 – Monkey Hill
04 – Mr. Big
05 – The Same Thing
06 – Mother Earth
07 – Just Got Paid
08 – Left Coast Groovies
09 – World Of Difference
10 – World Of Difference (Alt. Version) [bonus track]

Warren Haynes (guitar, vocals)
Allen Woody (bass)
Matt Abts (drums)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.