BANSHEE – Race Against Time / Cry In The Night [digitally remastered +1] (2016)

BANSHEE - Race Against Time / Cry In The Night [digitally remastered +1] (2016) full

Divebomb Records is releasing a 2-CD set including the two first cult albums “Race Against Time / Cry In The Night” by US hard rockers BANSHEE fully remastered plus a bonus track.
Rising from the Midwestern hard rock scene of the mid-’80s, Banshee was a band that balanced traditional US metal and melodic hard rock with winning results. Featuring former members of such underground Kansas City groups as Granmax and Frodo, Banshee was fronted by Tommy Lee Flood, a vocalist that many have compared to Ronnie James Dio in his range and power, but also Don Dokken for his melodic waves.

A few years after forming, Banshee self-released their “Cry In The Night” miniLP in 1986, selling so many copies independently that both Metal Blade and Atlantic Records courted the young act.
Banshee ended up signing on with A&R legend Jason Flom at Atlantic Records, but not before licensing the miniLP to Metal Blade, in turn bringing international attention to the group.

BANSHEE - Race Against Time / Cry In The Night [digitally remastered +1] (2016) front

1989 found the quartet releasing their debut full length album, “Race Against Time”, an 11-song collection that focused on their more melodic tendencies.

Still having their original US metal sound as foundation, Banshee added a welcomed catchiness to their music, as example listen to the AOR feeling of ‘Desire’ with its harmony chorus, or the bouncy melodic hard rocker ‘Get it On The Run’.
Despite MTV’s Headbangers Ball giving the band’s ‘Shoot Down the Night’ video healthy airplay, behind-the-scenes drama lead to Banshee being dropped by Atlantic Records. The group would break up in 1993.

BANSHEE - Race Against Time / Cry In The Night [digitally remastered +1] (2016) back

Now, over 30 years since Banshee formed, Divebomb Records are delivering these two cult classics “Race Against Time / Cry In The Night” for the first time digitally remastered plus a bonus track; ‘We Want You’ in its first mix as originally appeared in one of the now legendary Metal Massacre compilations.
With both titles long out of print, this is your chance to own two collectible pieces from a band that commercially should have been huge, but musically certainly was.
Highly Recommended

Disc 1: Race Against Time remastered
01 – Shoot Down the Night
02 – All Alone
03 – Race Against Time
04 – Circular Flight of the One Winged Sparrow
05 – Call of the Wild
06 – Precious Metal
07 – Desire
08 – Get It on the Run
09 – Missing You
10 – Drive Like Hell
11 – Desert Moon

Disc 2: Cry In The Night remastered +1
01 – We Want You
02 – Back Your Way
03 – I Believe
04 – The Stranger
05 – Cry in the Night
06 – We Want You (Metal Massacre 9 version) [bonus track]

Tommy Lee Flood – Vocals
Terry Dunn – Guitars, Vocals
Kent Burnham – Drums
Bill Westfall – Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Chuck Hopkins – Bass on ‘Cry In The Night EP’


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.