VAN ZANT – Red White & Blue (2016)

VAN ZANT - Red White & Blue (2016) full

Loud & Proud Records will release tomorrow “Red White & Blue“, a recently unearthed VAN ZANT show recorded on January 28, 2006 at Wild Adventures Theme Park in Valdosta, Georgia, the only concert recording in existence from the only tour by brothers Johnny (Lynyrd Skynyrd) and Donnie (38 Special) Van Zant.

This ‘lost’ album was discovered by Donnie’s 38 Special bandmate Larry Jungstron. It was Larry who had bought recording equipment and recorded the show, with the brothers’ permission. The plan had been to release these tracks shortly after the show was recorded, but it remained on the shelf.
“The plan was always to enjoy ourselves and have fun,” says Donnie, “and this recording captures a moment when we had a great night.”

“Red White & Blue” is a mixture of Van Zant’s rocking roots, as well as their love for American music.
It covers all areas of the Van Zant’s rich musical legacy, opening with with the crowd-pleasing ‘Takin’ Up Space’ (awesome rocking version) and includes Van Zant’s 2005 hit ‘Help Somebody’, fan-favorite versions of .38 Special’s ‘Wild Eyed Southern Boys’ as well as Lynyrd Skynyrd’s ‘Call Me the Breeze’ and ‘Sweet Home Alabama’.

Johnny & Donnie voices blend perfectly in these timeless classic rock tunes helped by a very well oiled cast of musicians. They sometimes rocks, at places go acoustically, you have sweet ballads, and all are performed with passion. Btw, the sound of the recording is awesome.
Really good stuff. Very Recommended.

01 – Takin’ Up Space
02 – Ain’t Nobody Gonna Tell Me What To Do
03 – Sweet Mama
04 – Wild Eyed Southern Boys
05 – Things I Miss The Most
06 – I Know My History
07 – Help Somebody
08 – Plain Jane
09 – I Can’t Help Myself
11 – Red White & Blue
12 – My Kinda Country
13 – Call Me The Breeze
14 – Sweet Home Alabama


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.