INTUITIVE – Reset (2016)

INTUITIVE - Reset (2016) full

Reset” is the debut CD from INTUITIVE, released via MelodicRock Records. Intuitive is the Melodic Hard Rock project of Portuguese guitarist Rui Martins, who with his former band Faithfull released two stupendous albums in the genre during the past decade.

After the end of Faithfull – the band was really successful in Japan – guitarist & songwriter Rui Martins continued to compose music while playing live with his cover band Roadies. It’s in the midst of the Roadies family that Martins meets Alexandre Fernandes, their former singer and also ex-Winesnake (Whitesnake tribute band), and Intuitive born.
The idea was to create classic Melodic Hard Rock music with a punchy, modern sound. Owner of a deep voice and great stage presence, Alexandre is the right choice to handle the vocal duties.
For the bass spot, Martins invites his longtime friend and ex-Faithfull bandmate Mario Barbosa, while Joao Colaço (ex-Rage of Angels), one of the most sought-off session drummers in Portugal, recorded the parts.

The album begins with the properly titled ‘Start The Show’, a bouncy hard rocker with a bluesy feeling akin Burning Rain. ‘Rock Bottom’ provides more groove, same with the intense ‘Sweeter Than It Seems’.
‘Reason To Live’ has a Peterik / Pride Of Lions feel, then ‘Take A Chance’ has an almost poppy / melodic rock melody.
‘Gone’ is one of the more AORish cuts on the CD, and one of my favorites. Of course, Intuitive also offer two ballads in the form of the the acoustically based ‘Love Will Save The Day’ which raise the tempo in a Tyketto vein, and later with the midtempo ‘Heaven’, also with an AOR scent.

INTUITIVE - Reset (2016) back

With a classic Melodic Hard Rock sound ranging from late Eighties / early Nineties, Intuitive has released a truly enjoyable debut in “Reset”.
The band doesn’t re-invent the wheel in the genre – there’s no need of it, fans want this classic sound & songwriting – and all the pieces fit nicely. The hooks are strong, the band sounds tight and production is warm, melodic, polished.
Two thumbs up!

01 – Start The Show
02 – Rock Bottom
03 – Gone
04 – Sweeter Than It Seems
05 – Love Will Save The Day
06 – Reason To Live
07 – The Reckoning Day
08 – Illusion
09 – Take A Chance
10 – Set The Night On Fire
11 – Heaven
12 – Time Will Tell

Alexandre Fernandes: Vocals
Rui Martins: Guitars
Mario Barbosa: Bass
Pedro Torrao: Drums
Julio Guerreiro: Keyboards, Guitar
Joao Colaco – Drums (on the recording)


2 Responses

  1. Rudio says:

    Very nice you posted this great Intuitive album.
    Like almost every post, by the way! Thanks.

    Any chance you will post the Rock Candy remasters of
    Trapeze selftitled and Steve Walsh – Schemer Dreamer?


  2. 0dayroxx says:

    We'll try to get both for you, stay tuned

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.