THE BABYS – Union Jacks [Rock Candy remaster]

THE BABYS - Union Jacks [Rock Candy remaster] full

One of you readers requested the Rock Candy Records remastered version of “Union Jacks“, perhaps the best album from THE BABYS.
This great British melodic rock band returned two years ago with a very nice album, the first in 33 years since the group disbanded. New singer John Bisaha did a great job, but for those fans whom still miss the unique John Waite fronting The Babys, this album is one to treasure.

“Union Jacks”, The Babys’ fourth album and produced by Keith Olsen (Foreigner, Whitesnake), heralded a change to not only their sound but also their line-up.
Introducing keyboardist Jonathan Cain (later to join Journey and Bad English) and bassist Ricky Phillips (also a future member of Bad English) to the fold, the band tweaked their style, introducing a punchier and dynamic edge.

THE BABYS - Union Jacks [Rock Candy remaster] booklet

In addition, both of the new members collaborated with songwriting, which helped to propel the band into a new, almost more modern, era but that is not to say they left their rockin’ shoes at home. Far from it.
Stuffed full of tough-guy riffs and brilliantly emotive vocals from John Waite, the album oozes sophistication but retains a rough-hewn urgency that keeps the energy firmly in the red zone.

“Union Jacks” birthed yet another top thirty US hit single, the anthemic “Back On My Feet Again”, cementing The Babys reputation as one of the greatest melodic hard rock bands of the period.
But there’s more: the catchy “Midnight Rendezvous”, the classy title track, and the awesome “In Your Eyes”, that sounds like a Bad English song, but recorded 10 years before.

THE BABYS - Union Jacks [Rock Candy remaster] back cover

“Union Jacks” always will be my favorite The Babys record. It was ahead of its time, with refined melodic arrangements and a polished, glossy production that would be the AOR staple in years to come.
This Rock Candy remaster is terrific, brilliant, wide open. The booklet is great as well, including a track-by-track comment by John Waite.
A Must Have


01 – Back On My Feet Again
02 – True Love True Confession
03 – Midnight Rendezvous
04 – Union Jacks
05 – In Your Eyes
06 – Anytime
07 – Jesus, Are You There?
08 – Turn Around In Tokyo
09 – Love Is Just A Mystery

John Waite: Lead Vocals
Wally Stocker: Guitar
Ricky Phillips: Bass
Jonathan Cain: Keyboards
Tony Brock: Drums



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Jay says:

    Can we get a new to this and the other John Waite titles? These albums are amazing. Thanks for sharing this wonderful music.

Leave a Reply to 0dayrox Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.