ANGEL (Gregg Giuffria) – Angel [Rock Candy Remaster]

ANGEL (Gregg Giuffria) - Angel [Rock Candy Remaster] full

Some of you requested the Gregg Giuffria first band ANGEL influential albums Remastered & Reloaded by Rock Candy Records. This is ANGEL’s debut, the marvelous self-titled.
ANGEL was formed in 1975 by Frank DiMino and Gregg Giuffria with the ambition to create the perfect rock band. Angel’s manifest destiny revolved around two key components: that’s killer hooks and killer looks. Seasoned players all, their arrival on the Los Angeles rock scene certainly put the cat amongst the pigeons in a world crying out for something fresh, original and very different.

Based in Los Angeles and signed by Casablanca label (home to Kiss), Angel’s debut received instant approval from anyone hip to the trip.
Musically the focus was firmly on a sort of pioneering seventies mash-up of progressive and melodic hard rock, spearheaded by the extraordinary operatic vocals of Frank DiMino and the wildly dexterous keyboard virtuosity of Gregg Giuffria.

“Angel” is one of the fundamental albums of Pomp Rock.
Few bands in the genre have matched the brilliance of “Tower”, “Long Time” or “Mariner”, the three songs that make up the legend of this album.
“Tower” is one of the most epic songs written in the ’70s, “Long Time” takes lyricism into a whole new level and along with the ballad “Mariner” they display the vocal talents of Frank Dimino. There’s pure magic in the musicianship these guys reach.

Produced by Englishmen Derek Lawrence (Deep Purple, Wishbone Ash) and session guitarist extraordinaire Big Jim Sullivan, the album is treasure trove of surprises and includes several songs that have since gone on to become standard bearers in the star spangled world of Melodic Rock mayhem.

ANGEL (Gregg Giuffria) - Angel [Rock Candy Remaster] back

ANGEL first, self-titled album is another essential reissue by Rock Candy, with the usual 24-bit remastering from original source tapes and a pristine sound.
Pomp Rules!


01 – Tower
02 – Long Time
03 – Rock & Rollers
04 – Broken Dreams
05 – Mariner
06 – Sunday Morning
07 – On & On
08 – Angel (Theme)

Frank DiMino – Vocals
Punky Meadows – Guitars
Mickey Jones – Bass
Barry Brandt – Drums, Percussion
Gregg Giuffria – Synths, Piano, Clavinet, Harpsichord, Mellotron, Strings, Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.