ROYAL HUNT – Cargo [Japanese Edition] (2016)

ROYAL HUNT - Cargo [Japanese Edition] (2016) full

Frontiers Music Srl will release ROYAL HUNT‘s new live album, titled “Cargo” on March 18, which includes a complete rendition of their signature concept album ‘Paradox’. The 2-CD set is already available in Japan.
Following the release of their excellent latest studio album Devil’s Dozen ROYAL HUNT participated in three widely known Festivals around the globe in the fall of 2015: ProgPower USA, Loud Park Japan and Rockingham UK. They performed their energetic brand of symphonic/progressive yet highly melodic and instantly accessible Royal Rock for thousands of appreciative fans.

Why live album and why now? “Well, mostly because we haven´t released any live recordings for – roughly – 10 years or so”, says keyboard maestro and principal songwriter Andre Andersen.
“Cargo” features 90 minutes of the best performances from the aforementioned festival dates, including the entire ‘Paradox’ concept album done in its entirety.

v booklet

Easily one of the most consistent bands on the prog / sympho (but always melodic and with an AOR touch) circuit since the early ’90s, Royal Hunt are class personified, and the current line-up of Andre Andersen (keyboards), DC Cooper (vocals), Andreas Passmark (bass), Jonas Larsen (guitar), and Andreas Johansson (drums) put on quite the display through this thrilling live set.

With Cooper’s soaring vocals, Andersen’s majestic keyboard tapestries and Larsen’s tasty guitar work, the band tackle classic tracks like “River of Pain”, “Tearing Down the World”, “Long Way Home”, and “Time Will Tell” with power and grace, the perfect marriage of prog, metal and melodic rock.
“Silent Scream” hits hard with muscular yet complex riffs but those great vocal harmonies also share the spotlight, while the grandiose “It’s Over” and the unforgettable “May You Never (Walk Alone)” show why both Cooper & Andersen are such respected figures in the industry.

ROYAL HUNT - Cargo [Japanese Edition] (2016) back

Quality stuff all around here on “Cargo”, a near perfect live recording for those who haven’t had the chance to catch the band on stage, as well as a memorable document for those who have managed to experience the band in this environment.
Strongly Recommended

CD 1:
1 – The Mission
2 – Half Past Loneliness
3 – The Awakening
4 – River Of Pain
5 – Tearing Down The World
6 – Message To God
7 – Long Way Home

CD 2:
1 – Time Will Tell
2 – Silent Scream
3 – It’s Over
4 – May You Never (Walk Alone)
5 – A Life To Die For

André Andersen – keyboards
DC Cooper – vocals
Andreas Passmark – bass
Jonas Larsen – guitars
Andreas Johansson – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.