TAINTED NATION – On The Outside (2016)

TAINTED NATION - On The Outside (2016) full

February 26 seems to be a day of great releases, as all-star Swedish / English Hard Rock project TAINTED NATION is presenting today their second record with the title “On The Outside“.
Formed by talented heads of the scene, that is; Lions Heart guitarist Ian Nash, great drummer Mark Cross (Outloud, Firewind), The Poodles bass player Pontus Egberg and Eden’s Curse drummer Pete Newdeck – whom in this case is at charge of lead vocals, the 5-piece have just have created another kick-ass rocking record full of bite.

The band’s debut was a damn fine slice of hard rock stuff with some metallic ‘touches’ and it made an impression to the Euro hard rock / metal fans. Somewhere between Pretty Maids, Sixx A.M. and a modern day Ozzy but with an extra dose of melody, Tainted Nation is a band that has the right attitude and the songs to become a major act in the circuit.
Pete Newdeck is doin’ a terrific job regarding the vocals and sometimes you get the impression that you are hearing ’80s Ozzy!!! The guitar duo of Peters and Nash delivers some excellent guitar work and the rhythm section is tight as a rock.

To be honest, I didn’t find any weak moment here or something average. This 13-track album is highly enjoyable from start to finish and the sure thing is that Tainted Nation overcome themselves with this second release.
If I had to pick some songs from “On The Outside”, these would be the extremely melodic and groovy title track (Nick Workman of Vega appears as backing vocalist), the pumping “Defiance”, the clever, catchy and commercial “Karma” (akin Swedes Eclipse), my personal favorite “About A Boy” and the punchy “Welcome to War”.
Also, I find extremely interesting closer “Back To Earth”, a semi-ballad with clean guitars, and the modern, updated cover version of Billy Squier’s classic ““The Stroke”.

TAINTED NATION - On The Outside (2016) inside

Tainted Nation have surpased themselves with “On The Outside” and achieved to release a brilliant and catchy hard rockin’ album plenty of muscle and tons of melody that will be appreciated by each and every single fan of this timeless music.
Strongly Recommended.

01 – Live And Die
02 – Defiance
03 – Fight
04 – Barriers
05 – On The Outside
06 – The Stroke
07 – Ordinary Life
08 – Karma
09 – Going To Hell
10 – About A Boy
11 – Pulling Me Under
12 – Welcome To War
13 – Back To Earth

Pete Newdeck (vocals)
Ian Nash (guitars)
Joel Peters (guitars)
Mark Cross (drums)
Pontus Egberg (bass)
Nick Workman (backing vocals)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.