WIGELIUS – Tabula Rasa (2016)

WIGELIUS - Tabula Rasa (2016) full

Since its formation in late 2011, WIGELIUS – created and fronted by Anders Wigelius (winner of a popular TV show on the National Swedish channel) prominently helped by his brother Erik on Drums plus few others talented players including gifted guitar player Jakob Svensson – is one of the most refreshing acts from the new Scandinavian Melodic Rock / AOR wave.
Released by AOR Heaven Records, “Tabula Rasa” is the new lovely effort by Anders Wigelius & Co.

With a debut album receiving high praise in a worldwide scale by all AOR specialists, the juvenile band continue on this new record with their vision of a refined ’80s radio-ready Melodic Rock with a modern twist, plenty of wonderful tunes.
Just listen some of the album highlights; “Long Way From Home” with a delicious melody like a Journey / FM collaboration with some Leppard-ish drum sounds, “Yesterday’s News” which stands-out for structure and execution, or “Time Well Wasted” with that distinct classic-era Bon Jovi feel to it.

Album opener “Do It All Again” will tell you all you need to know about this album: modern AOR with a pristine sound and production, while the anthemic “Please Please Please” is the exact compromise between present day Def Leppard and H.E.A.T.

WIGELIUS - Tabula Rasa (2016) inside

The pumping pace of “Do It All Again” is borrowed to the groovy entertainment of both Winger and early Harem Scarem enhanced with an additional, irresistible multi-layered chorus, then “These Tears I Cry” is perhaps the more ‘American’ track on the CD with a Night Ranger flavor.
On the balladry side, “9 Out Of 10” is a great example of how to build on a catchy acoustic opening with an orchestral backing.

“Tabula Rasa” confirms all the expectations put on Wigelius sophomore album; a stellar collection of AOR / Melodic Rock tracks strongly inspired in the golden age of this type of music, but with a revitalizing modern approach.
This is how the genre should sound 2016, and I am glad these Swedes are bringing new young listeners to this timeless, melodious kind of music.

1. Do It All Again
2. Deja Vu
3. These Tears I Cry
4. Long Way From Home
5. Set Me Free
6. Yesterdays News
7. Time Well Wasted
8. 9 Out of 10
9. Run With Me
10. Love Is The Key
11. Please, Please, Please
12. Ma Chérie

Anders Wigelius – Vocals
Jakob Svensson – Guitars
Erik Wigelius – Drums
Patrik Janson – Bass


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.