NORDIC UNION – Nordic Union (2016)

NORDIC UNION - Nordic Union (2016)

the real one

Frontiers Music president has a gift for pairing talented musicians who create amazing new projects. NORDIC UNION is no exception, and may in fact be his most genius moment yet. The union of Pretty Maids Dutch frontman, Ronnie Atkins, and noted Swedish producer, singer and songwriter, Erik Mårtensson (Eclipse, W.E.T.), has born one of the first true melodic hard rock gems of 2016.

Mårtensson had a huge 2015 with Eclipse‘s Armageddonize, and Pretty Maids fans are salivating for their own anticipated 2016 release, but perfectly sandwiched between the two is the eponymous Nordic Union debut, which is 11 tracks of melodic rockin’ bliss.
Mårtensson hands over lead vocal duties to the instantly recognizable voice of Atkins, placing his focus on handling the guitars, bass and keyboards. He reached out to his former Eclipse bandmate, Magnus Ulfstedt, to hit the drums.

The album opens in glorious form with the dramatic sonicscape, “The War Has Begun”. This mid-tempo number rises and falls with driving riffs and huge vocals. The bass, normally so buried on such albums, really stands out here. Eclipse guitarist Magnus Henriksson lends his fret skills on a tasty solo.

NORDIC UNION - Nordic Union (2016)

The atmospheric vibe flows into the chugging rocker, “Hypocrisy”, with its instantly addictive chorus. Noted death metal guitarist Fredrik Folkare (Firespawn, Unleashed) delivers a decidedly arioso solo to the track.
The moody “Wide Awake” has a great rolling feel and grand scope. Another catchy chorus, and a guest guitar solo delivered by Swedish guitarist Thomas Larsson.

Mårtensson is no stranger to penning melodramatic hard rock ballads, and he serves one up here in the form of “Every Heartbeat”. Larsson handles the solo on this track as well. Whether you use your cellphone or go old school with a lighter, this song will cause fans to light up the arena.
In an album full of fantastic tracks, the album’s first single, “When Death is Calling” is a signature piece on this record. It resonates with a definite Pretty Maids feel, even without Atkins vocal delivery. Mårtensson’s bass and fretwork truly elevate this song.

Next up is the anthemic rocker “21 Guns” with its galloping guitar riff and military-esque drum work. The song’s hook stands as one of the record’s most infectious. Mårtensson lays down some of his catchiest guitar work here.
The second half of the record is as strong as the first with the harmony-laden “Falling”, and racing rhythms of “The Other Side”. “The Point of No Return” and “Go” are powerful examples of well-crafted melodic hard rock, while “True Love Awaits You” is a dark and winding beauty of emotive eloquence. Atkins’ voice blends perfectly with Mårtensson’s.

Nordic Union is a project that could easily have sounded mediocre and forced, but it is perhaps the best pairing of talent one might have imagined. Mårtensson’s flair for addictive melodies and tight production are deftly balanced by Atkins’ brilliant vocal performances.
With Nordic Union, Erik Mårtensson & Ronnie Atkins have created what will easily be one of the best modern melodic hard rock albums of 2016. Not a weak or skip-over sung in the bunch. This Scandinavian duo have made an album to be enormously proud of, one of the best of the year without a doubt.

01. The War Has Begun
02. Hypocrisy
03. Wide Awake
04. Every Heartbeart
05. When Death Is Calling
06. 21 Guns
07. Falling
08. The Other Side
09. Point Of No Return
10. True Love Awaits You
11. Go

Ronnie Atkins (Pretty Maids): Lead & background vocals
Erik Martensson (Eclipse, W.E.T): Guitar, bass, keyboards and background vocals
Magnus Ulfstedt (Eclipse): Drums
guest guitar solos:
Thomas Larsson, guitar solo on “Every Heartbest” & “Wide Awake”
Fredrik Folkare, guitar solo on “Point Of No Return” & “Hypocrisy”
Magnus Henriksson, guitar solo on “The War Has Begun”
thanks to Rustyn Rose


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.