JOE COCKER – The Life of a Man; The Ultimate Hits (2015)

JOE COCKER - The Life of a Man; The Ultimate Hits (2015) full

It’s almost one year ago since JOE COCKER died at his home, aged 70. The iconic British rock star has been much missed. He was undoubtedly one of the pre-eminent rock musicians of his generation, releasing 22 studio albums, 10 live albums, 68 singles, and numerous compilations during his lifetime.
Now, Joe Cocker’s legacy will be celebrated with Two-CD entitled “The Life Of A Man: The Ultimate Hits“, to be appeared next December 11, 2015 (in UK February of 2016).

“The Life Of A Man: The Ultimate Hits”, is a 36-track compilation which honors the memory of Joe Cocker, the first comprehensive double album with all the hits and highlights of his career, the definitive ‘Best Of’ of all time, encapsulating Cocker’s entire musical history, delivered in his signature husky blues voice.
The double pack offers a career retrospective, with tracks from his A&M Records debut, With a Little Help From My Friends, which included the title song – a UK No. 1 – his first single “Marjorine,” which Joe penned, and his cover of Traffic’s “Feelin’ Alright”; of course “Up Where We Belong,” his hit with Jennifer Warnes, to the title track of his final studio album, Fire It Up, and a live version of “You Are So Beautiful,” recorded in Cologne, Germany, in February, 2013, with both never available in the U.S.

JOE COCKER - The Life of a Man; The Ultimate Hits (2015) cds photo

Also present are may favorite Cocker songs ever; “You Can Leave Your Hat On”, the AORish “When The Night Comes” (written by Bryan Adams), “Unchain My Heart”, and “Night Calls” (written & performed by Jeff Lynne).
Cocker always gave his carefully curated songs his own twist, a fact often publically acknowledged by the original writers. For instance, Paul McCartney said how especially pleased he was when ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’ was given the Cocker signature stamp: “I remember him and Denny Cordell coming round to the studio in Savile Row and playing me what they’d recorded and it was just mind blowing, totally turned the song into an anthem and I was forever grateful to him for doing that”, said Paul.

JOE COCKER - The Life of a Man; The Ultimate Hits (2015) back

It does not matter which side of Rock music you like most, “The Life Of A Man – The Ultimate Hits” is a collection of outstanding songs over two CDs; an essential album for every music collection, the final curtain call for an artist loved and missed.

Disc 1:
01. Feelin’ Alright
02. High Time We Went
03. Marjorine
04. She Came in Through the Bathroom Window
05. I Can Stand a Little Rain
06. Many Rivers to Cross
07. Shelter Me
08. You Can Leave Your Hat On
09. Can’t Find My Way Home
10. Darling Be Home Soon
11. One
12. My Father’s Son
13. Fire It Up
14. Unchain My Heart
15. Delta Lady
16. Cry Me a River (Live)
17. The Letter (Live)
18. With a Little Help from My Friends
19. You Are so Beautiful (Live)

Disc 2:
01. When the Night Comes
02. Come Together
03. First We Take Manhattan
04. Summer in the City
05. Up Where We Belong (Soundtrack Version)
06. Don’t You Love Me Anymore
07. Unforgiven
08. Have A Little Faith In Me
09. You Are So Beautiful (Album Version)
10. Woman to Woman
11. The Simple Things
12. N’oubliez jamais
13. Tonight (Radio Edit)
14. Night Calls
15. Hard Knocks
16. I Come in Peace
17. Performance


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.