CHEAP TRICK – The Epic Archive, Vol. 2 [1980-1983] (2015)

CHEAP TRICK - The Epic Archive, Vol. 2 [1980-1983] (2015) complete 16 tracks

Sony Music / Epic just released three new CHEAP TRICK rarities compilations entitled “Cheap Trick The Epic Archive” something that had been rumored to be in the works for years. The track listing in all volumes is a must for fans and collectors, with this “Cheap Trick The Epic Archive Vol.2” covering perhaps Cheap Trick’s more creative period (1980-1983) featuring many songs previously unavailable on digital format and most of Cheap Trick’s hardest to find soundtrack material.

In fact, the last two tracks in this “Cheap Trick The Epic Archive Vol.2” – the band’s contribution to Spring Break Original Soundtrack – are not available at the moment due to licensing troubles.
These where sold online for few hours… don’t worry, we have both 🙂
These ‘Spring Break OST’ tracks alone worth the purchase as always were almost impossible to find.
But there’s much more to enjoy here, such as the tracks from Found All The Parts, the EP released by Cheap Trick in 1980; “Take Me I’m Yours”, “Such a Good Girl” and the cover of “Day Tripper” live. The latter was not actually recorded live. While the band taped a live performance of the song, they did not like the way it had turned out. It was re-recorded in the studio with the live crowd from the original track added in.

Other worthwhile rarities are the vocal version of “Oh Boy”, the demos (very good sound) of “Loser” and “If You Want My Love”, single versions of “World’s Greatest Lover” and “Dancing the Night Away”, the really cool Super New Dance Re-Mix of “Saturday at Midnight” (very ’80s!), and of course the two tracks provided by Cheap Trick to the legendary movie Heavy Metal.

“Cheap Trick The Epic Archive” volumes are a pot of gold for collectors, and a great melodic bunch of very good Cheap Trick material.
Highly Recommended.

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – Day Tripper [Live] (EP Version]
02 – Such a Good Girl (EP Version)
03 – Take Me I’m Yours (EP Version)
04 – Oh Boy (Vocal Version)
05 – Loser (Demo)
06 – The House Is Rockin’ (Live at the LA Forum)
07 – Way of the World (Live at the LA Forum)
08 – World’s Greatest Lover (Single Version)
09 – Everything Works If You Let It (Single Version)
10 – Reach Out (From “Heavy Metal” Original Soundtrack)
11 – I Must Be Dreamin’ (From “Heavy Metal” Original OST)
12 – If You Want My Love (Demo)
13 – Saturday at Midnight (Super New Dance Re-Mix)
14 – Dancing the Night Away (Short Version)
15 – Spring Break (From Spring Break Original Soundtrack)
16 – Get Ready (From Spring Break Original Soundtrack)

Robin Zander – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Rick Nielsen – lead guitar, vocals
Tom Petersson – bass guitar, vocals
Bun E. Carlos – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.