POISON – Look What The Cat Dragged In [Japan SHM-CD Remastered] (2015)

POISON - Look What The Cat Dragged In [SHM-CD Remastered] (2015) full

A couple months ago we presented here the first batch of Universal Records Japan reissue campaign of various ’80s Rock artists / albums from their back catalog on high quality SHM-CD, all remastered, with bonus tracks and with an affordable, reduced price.
Among these artists is POISON, and their rutilant major debut “Look What The Cat Dragged In“.

When you look at the first Poison album you are immediately reminded of MTV at their peak and quickly remember just how flashy the Hard Rock genre had become.
The year was 1986 and bands like Poison gave rise to what became labeled the ‘Hair Metal’ decade. This aspect of big hair rock and roll would be par for the course for many of the bands from the Los Angeles area.
Poison was an MTV poster child and had five songs from this album in heavy rotation on the network. Their wild ‘Glam’ look and cartoon character antics made for some truly memorable videos.

Singer Bret Michaels, guitarist C.C. DeVille, drummer Rikki Rocket and bassist Bobby Dall surely seemed to have the world in their grasp and almost single handedly increased the level of female interest in the Hard Rock genre.
The formula on the album was simple and straight forward, it was about Rocking and it was about girls. Songs like “Talk Dirty To Me” and “I Want Action” played upon the bands not so subtle sexual innuendos and seemed to pave their way.
Ballads like “I Wont Forget You” would show the band had a softer side and while this number was really good (with some AOR in it) it would not have the impact on the charts like the forthcoming power ballad Every Rose Has Its Thorn from their next album.

Like old KISS or AC/DC and at the time Journey or Survivor, early Poison had a catchiness to it that made the chorus parts very easy to remember. You could not go to a Rock crowd filled bar back in the day without hearing them blasting from every jukebox.
One of my personal favorites was always “Cry Tough” since it seemed to cite the necessary drive that made up every hard working musician of the day.

POISON - Look What The Cat Dragged In [SHM-CD Remastered] (2015) back

This Japanese edition on SHM-CD sounds excellent with its bright remastering and an increased bass deep end. You also 3 bonus tracks including the single remixes of “I Want Action” and “I Won’t Forget You” (I was looking for the latter for many years) and the recording of “Don’t Mess Around With Jim” where Poison did a nice job from the original Jim Croce song.

If you own the old vinyl or the flat original CD edition, then perhaps it’s time you pass it along to some younger Rock fans to show them a particular point in time and then treat yourself to this remastered edition.
Now where did I put that hairspray…
Highly Recommended.

Universal Japan ~ 【SHM-CD】UICY-25533

01 – Cry Tough
02 – I Want Action
03 – I Won’t Forget You
04 – Play Dirty
05 – Look What The Cat Dragged In
06 – Talk Dirty To Me
07 – Want Some, Need Some
08 – Blame It On You
09 – #1 Bad Boy
10 – Let Me Go To The Show
11 – I Want Action (7′ Single Remix)
12 – I Won’t Forget You (7′ Single Remix)
13 – Don’t Mess Around With Jim (Demo)

Bret Michaels – vocals, guitar, keyboards
C.C. DeVille – guitars
Rikki Rockett – drums
Bobby Dall – bass guitar


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.