BAD RADIATOR – Demons (2015)

BAD RADIATOR - Demons (2015) full

Swedes BAD RADIATOR were already presented here with their two previous albums, both lovely collections of melodic rock tunes with the usual Scandinavian class. The guys are back with third record “Demons“, another strong effort.

If you are new to Bad Radiator, these experienced musicians were formerly known as Grace, which rose some popularity in Europe with the single ‘Ingen Kan Alska Som Vi’ (No One Can Love As Do) used in the Swedish movie of the same name from 1988.
“Demons” follows the effective formula of the band’s preceding albums; short songs adorned with superb melodies, nice hooks, breezy harmonies and quite catchy moments.
Bad Radiator’s music blend styles ranging from the pop brilliance of Cutting Crew or Rick Springfield to the light AOR of Stage Dolls and Spin Gallery, whilst stopping off at Richard Marx for good measure.

BAD RADIATOR - Demons (2015) booklet

However, “Demons” delivers a more updated sound, mature is the word.
Songs like ‘Keep Moving On’ have a some kind of groove not heard before, while the title track explores wider sonics.
Catchy melodic rockers are still present in the form of ‘Sweet Surrender’ or the warm ‘Can You Feel The Heat’, then the AORish ‘I Forgive You Honey’ flows like a breezy summer air.
The ballad ‘Fairytales’ is where Bad Radiator bring to mind their Grace days with a sweet poppy melody adding acoustic guitars, gentle keyboards and female background vocals creating a cool atmosphere.

BAD RADIATOR - Demons (2015) back

With a title like “Demons” and a ‘darker’ artwork I was expecting a heavier approach in Bad Radiator’s new album, but these guys are all about delicate, clean Scandinavian melodies and sounds.
The quartet certainly knows how to craft an instant likable melody, at times light as the thin air, and then balanced by a catchy, pulsating rockin’ vibe.

01. Sweet Surrender
02. Keep Moving On (feat. Maria Andersson)
03. Black Cat
04. Demons
05. Can You Feel The Heat
06. Hey
07. Fairytales (feat. Linnea Hansson)
08. Do It Again
09. I Forgive You Honey
10. Holy Water
11. When All Is Said And Done

Mikael Lundgren – Lead Vocals, Keyboards
Klas Bergvall – Guitars
Roger Hansson – Drums
Janne Persson – Bass


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.