TANK – Valley Of Tears [digipak] (2015)

TANK - Valley Of Tears [digipak] (2015) full


British metallers TANK are back with a new album and a completely refreshed personnel. On “Valley Of Tears“, joining original guitarists Mick Tucker and Cliff Evans are former Dragonforce frontman ZP Theart – who has been a member of Tank’s touring lineup for the past two years.
The rhythm section is also new and impressive; drummer Bobby Schottkowski (formerly of Sodom) and current Blind Guardian bass player Barend Courbois.

Although great vocalist Doogie White is no longer with Tank, I think new singer ZP Theart is a wise addition to the band. ZP powerful (yet clean) pipes provide higher strength to the new, more muscular material from the band.
This new Tank lineup does not need any further praise, these are seasoned musicians who are all ‘in the zone’ and they rock like hell.

TANK - Valley Of Tears [digipak] (2015) booklet

“Valley Of Tears” is much more traditional metal than the 2 previous albums but still retaining certain hard rock groove. Songs like the almost catchy “War Dance”, “Hold On” or the majestic “Living a Fantasy” are proof of it.
Powerful drums start the darker ”Eye of the Hurricane”, a track with that characteristic British metal midtempo feel, while Tank accelerates the proceedings with “Heading for Eternity in a true ’80s fashion.
Special mention goes to the title track, an epic metal piece with slower parts and atmospheres greatly achieved.

Warning: this is the physical CD version. The digital release sold at major retailers has a different song sequence (the CD works better in my opinion), and even worse; the tracks are wrongly named / tagged.

TANK - Valley Of Tears [digipak] (2015) back

“Valley Of Tears” opens a new chapter in more than 30 years of Tank’s history. The sound is massive and the new singer fits like a glove the heavier material.
This is traditional metal / hard rock in the British style very, very well done, and you know, they call it now ‘classic rock’. This is because everything sounds clear, punchy and melodic.
A highly recommended release in the old-school.

01 – Valley Of Tears
02 – War Dance
03 – Eye Of A Hurricane
04 – Hold On
05 – Living A Fantasy
06 – Heading For Eternity
07 – World On Fire
08 – Make A Little Time
09 – One For The Road

Mick Tucker, Cliff Evans: guitars
ZP Theart: vocals
Bobby Schottkowski: drums
Barend Courbois: bass


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.