THE MURDER OF MY SWEET – Beth Out Of Hell (2015)

THE MURDER OF MY SWEET - Beth Out Of Hell (2015) full

Created by talented drummer, vocalist and producer Daniel Flores, THE MURDER OF MY SWEET has been releasing quality material since six years ago, and now are presenting “Beth Out Of Hell” to be released by Frontiers Music tomorrow.
Flores calls the band’s sound Cinematic Metal / Hard Rock, being inspired by film scores, and indeed there’s some of this on the melodic layers, but basically these are pretty commercial / easy to the ears songs.

Essentially, The Murder Of My Sweet play light melodic metal with an inherent and ubiquitous hard rock groove and then dresses it up in lavish orchestration. I’m guessing the latter is mostly from Flores’ keyboards.
Now toss in the usual smokin’ hot female vocalist in Angelica Rylin and you have another female fronted metal band with a sympho touch. So now you say, “Been there, done that” Delain. Xandria. Nightwish. Et al. Well, yeah.
But there are some subtle differences to The Murder Of My Sweet.

Curiously, while having great range and soaring vocals, Rylin isn’t one of those wildly operatic soprano divas. She comes across as more the traditional rock and metal singer. Also, The Murder Of My Sweet, despite all the grandiose and lavish symphonic tapestry, can come off sounding more melodic and with a hard rock groove.
Mostly this comes from the best songs being arranged in a efficient fashion relying heavily on melodious layers and rich harmony, rhythm and catchy twists in refrains.

The best numbers in this vein appear in the middle of the album (which tells a story if you are interested), like the interesting “Bitter Love”, “Still”, “The Humble Servant” and “Requiem For A Ghost”.
Otherwise, everything else here is large and expansive, that lavish symphonic portion mostly overwhelming every song. But it sounds pretty darn good.

THE MURDER OF MY SWEET - Beth Out Of Hell (2015) back

Conversely, there’s a lot of it. The album plays out at nearly an hour and fifteen minutes. Considering the extravagance of the lengthy and lumbering closing number, “Means To An End”, and a few other plodding exercises in symphonic embellishment like “Euthanasia” and “Poets By Default”, this album could have been trimmed quite easily.

Although not in my favorite musical genre, I found “Beth Out Of Hell” a really good, solid effort by The Murder Of My Sweet. Basically, I liked most the album because its melodic approach and strong ‘rock’ vocals.
I can see why Frontiers has signed the band, as this record delivers commercial sympho, yes, but combined with an overall melodic / hard rock patina that makes it very enjoyable. And they sound darn fine.
Strongly Recommended


01 – Hell On Earth
02 – The Awakening
03 – World In Ashes
04 – Always The Fugitive
05 – Bitter Love
06 – Still
07 – The Humble Servant
08 – Requiem For A Ghost
09 – Euthanasia
10 – Tide After Tide
11 – Poets By Default
12 – Heaven Succumb
13 – Means To An End

Angelica Rylin – Vocals
Christopher Vetter – Guitar
Patrik Janson – Bass
Daniel Flores – Drums, Keyboards, Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.