NEWMAN – The Elegance Machine (2015)

NEWMAN - The Elegance Machine (2015) full


Fronted by Steve Newman since 1997, NEWMAN are ready to release their new album “The Elegance Machine” next September 11 through AOR Heaven Records.
A hard working regular of the Melodic Hard Rock, Newman consistently delivered quality music year after year and is at it once again with this new 2015 effort.

After the successful European tour (UK leg with Vega) presenting their very good previous album, Steve Newman focused on writing a new set of songs and with a fresh sound approach in mind.
A natural follow up to Siren, “The Elegance Machine” delivers a harder edge than its predecessor, but without losing the emphasis on strong hooks. The material encompasses what Newman stand for; powerful guitars, solid rhythm section, catchy choruses and huge vocal melodies / harmonies.
But this time it also brings in modern influences such as on the title track ‘The Elegance Machine’ and ‘Halo’ giving the recognizable and reliable Newman sound a more contemporary edge.

Steve has always been known for his thought-provoking lyrics, and “The Elegance Machine” is no exception with subject matter ranging from corporate business greed (the uptempo rocker ‘The Suit’), through domestic violence (‘She Walks In Silence’), and even onto the space themed (‘Prayer For Apollo’).

NEWMAN - The Elegance Machine (2015) inside

Once again Steve has teamed up with Rob McEwen (drummer for the last 8 Newman albums), and has also brought in the talents of Geoff Wootton and Mark Thompson-Smith (Praying Mantis, Big Life) providing backing / harmony vocals resulting in really good layers of melodies.

You can hear this on the aforementioned ‘Prayer For Apollo’, featuring some stunning vocal arrangements coupled with the solid riff of keys/guitar backing that Newman albums are known for.
‘One Good Reason’ is one of those upbeat hard rock songs that bands like FM do so well, another album stand out. ‘Scars’ closes the album with Steve backed just by a piano and a guitar solo midway through. Something a little different and it works well.

One of the most consistent and enjoyable bands in the Melodic Hard Rock field, Newman deliver another top quality album in “The Elegance Machine”, full of memorable and enjoyable songs.

01. The Suit (Skyscraper)
02. The Elegance Machine
03. Don t Stay Lonely
04. Illuminate
05. Confess
06. Halo
07. Prayer For Apollo
08. She Walks In Silence
09. One Good Reason
10. Pretender Surrender
11. Send Us Salvation
12. Scars

Steve Newman – Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards
Rob McEwen – Drums, Percussion
Geoff Wootton – Backing Vocals
Mark Thompson-Smith (Praying Mantis, Big Life) – Backing Vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.