FAITH NO MORE – The Real Thing [Deluxe Edition Remastered]

FAITH NO MORE - The Real Thing [Deluxe Edition Remastered] full album

One of my most beloved bands from the ’80s – FAITH NO MORE – returned some days ago with their first album in 18 years, but they’re also set to look back at their classic catalog. The influential band have announced a pair of Deluxe reissues for their two first landmark albums: 1989’s ‘The Real Thing’ and its 1992 followup ‘Angel Dust’.
Each reissue has been remastered and is being presented as double-CD and double LP. Both feature a bonus disc full of B-sides, rarities, and live recordings.
Let’s take a look at “The Real Thing Deluxe Edition“.

The bonus disc with “The Real Thing”, the first album to feature singer Mike Patton, feature remixes of Faith No More biggest hits; “Epic” and “Falling to Pieces”, as well as a cracking live version of the band’s Black Sabbath cover “War Pigs”.
There’s also the hard to find B-Sides “Cowboy Song” and “The Grade”, the exclusive “Sweet Emotion” (taken from Kerrang! Flexible Fiend), but my favorite it’s the rare Extended Remix of “From Out Of Nowhere”, really cool ‘n’ crazy.

FAITH NO MORE - The Real Thing [Deluxe Edition Remastered] cds photo

And we have the awesome “The Real Thing” fully remastered with a terrific sound.
The album – and the band – influenced tons of musicians and propitiate the creation of new Rock musical sub-genres.
Starting with the careening “From Out of Nowhere,” driven by Roddy Bottum’s doomy, energetic keyboards, Faith No More rebounded excellently on ‘The Real Thing’ after original singer Chuck Mosley’s firing.
Given that the band had nearly finished recording the music and new singer Mike Patton was a last minute recruit, he adjusts to the proceedings awesomely. His insane, wide-ranging musical interests would have to wait for the next album for their proper integration, but the band already showed enough of that to make it an inspired combination.

Bottum keyboards, in particular, remains the wild card, coloring Jim Martin’s nuclear-strength guitar riffs and the Gould / Bordin rhythm slams with everything from quirky hooks to pristine synth sheen.
FNM are heavy, but also funky and pretty experimental, as heard on the nutty lounge vibes of “Edge of the World” and the Arabic melodies and feedback of “Woodpeckers from Mars.”
“Falling to Pieces,” a fractured anthem with a delicious delivery from Patton, should have been a bigger single that it was, while “Surprise! You’re Dead!” and the title track stuff riffs down the listener’s throat.

The band’s best-known song remains the appropriately titled “Epic,” which lives up to its name from the bombastic opening to the concluding piano and the crunching, stomping funk metal in between.
The inclusion of a cover of Black Sabbath’s “War Pigs” amusingly backfired on the band – at the time, Sabbath’s hipness level was nonexistent, making it a great screw-you to the supposed cutting edge types.
However, all the metalheads took the band to their hearts so much that, as a result, the quintet dropped it from their sets to play the sweet tune “Easy” by the Commodores instead!

FAITH NO MORE - The Real Thing [Deluxe Edition Remastered] back

Faith No More’s “The Real Thing Deluxe Edition” is a mandatory purchase if you don’t have the original release in your collection, and if already it’s there, go an get it for the excellent bonus disc and the punchy fresh remastering.
A Must Have


CD 1 : The Real Thing remastered
01. From Out Of Nowhere
02. Epic
03. Falling To Pieces
04. Surprise! You’re Dead!
05. Zombie Eaters
06. The Real Thing
07. Underwater Love
08. The Morning After
09. Woodpecker From Mars
10. War Pigs
11. Edge Of The World

CD 2 : Bonus Tracks
01. Sweet Emotion (taken from Kerrang! Flexible Fiend)
02. Epic [Radio Remix Edit] (‘Epic’ Promotional CD single)
03. Falling To Pieces [Matt Wallace Remix] (‘Falling To Pieces’ 12”)
04. Cowboy Song (B-side)
05. The Grade (B-side)
06. From Out Of Nowhere [Extended Remix]
07. War Pigs (Live in Berlin 11.9.1989)
08. Surprise! You’re Dead! (Live in Sheffield)
09. Chinese Arithmetic (Live in Sheffield)
10. Underwater Love (Live in Brixton)
11. As The Worm Turns (Live in Brixton)

Mike Patton – Vocals
Jim Martin – Guitar
Billy Gould – Bass
Mike Bordin – Drums
Roddy Bottum – Keyboards



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi there this link appears to be down, Any chance of a Re-up. Many Thanks in advance and Kind Regards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.