EQUATOR – Fire (2015)

EQUATOR - Fire (2015) full


Six-piece act EQUATOR formed seven years ago in Bergen, Hordaland, Norway. From the beginning the aim of the guys was to recreate the classy, catchy Melodic Rock / AOR music from the ’80s.
After an EP released some time ago EQUATOR are back with a new studio effort entitled “Fire“.

Despite of being written by guitarist Torkel Eikevik (which seems to be a shredder on a side project) all the songs in “Fire” are keyboard-driven tunes inspired by the Scandi sound from the late Eighties. Take as example Da Vinci, Return, early Fate, some Skagarack and alike.
The last tracks here are taken from the first EP and you can note the ‘demo spirit’ of these recordings, on the other hand, the new material shows the evolution of the band both in the songwriting and the overall performance / production.

Tracks such as “Back On the Streets”, “Emelie”, the more poppy “Set the Night On Fire”, or the mid-tempo AOR of “Without You” are clear representations of Equator’s sound: pure Scandi Melodic Rock.
More AOR oriented are the slower cuts “Hold On to Your Heart”, the slightly British “Where Noone Knows”, and the ballad “Does It Feel Like Love”.
All are melodious, sweet songs to the ear yet there’s something the band needs to develop; more punchy and memorable choruses, a mandatory factor for this type of music.

EQUATOR - Fire (2015) inside

“Fire” is a good presentation card for Norwegians Equator, showcasing to the Melodic Rock world their intentions to create music in the classic mold of the genre. I think this also would serve as a working sample for specialized recording labels.
The songs are pretty good, but ironically, lack some ‘fire’ as mentioned with the choruses, the vocals need more polish, the mix, etc. However I see potential on these guys. A skilled producer / musical director can do miracles.
If you live in the area, Equator will start a mini-tour next June 18 presenting the album in Oslo and various Scandinavian cities.
Check them out.

01 – Emelie
02 – Back On the Streets
03 – Hold On to Your Heart
04 – Set the Night On Fire
05 – Without You
06 – Where Noone Knows
07 – Does It Feel Like Love (Remastered)
08 – Afraid of Loving You
09 – You
10 – The Time is Here
11 – Fight for Love
12 – Melancholia

Odd Utgard – lead vocals
Eivind Nyhammer – keyboards
Torkel Eikevik – guitars
Erlend Nyhammer – guitars
Vegard Nyhammer – bass
Severin Sandvik – drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.