CORVUS – Chasing Miracles (2015)

CORVUS - Chasing Miracles (2015) full


CORVUS is a new British AOR / Melodic Rock band that came into existence as the result of a completely unexpected scenario that saw the members working as session musicians on another project. Happily they stayed in touch and because of guitarist John Clews wish to join an original band, Corvus was formed after a brief stint with Welsh AORsters Serpentine.
The result is “Chasing Miracles” a delicious slice of catchy as hell pure AOR album, which easily shows up some of the big boy’s of the genre’s releases in recent years.
Corvus to me come across as the UK version of Work Of Art, whilst remaining quintessentially British they do show off their American and Scandinavian influences.

Recorded at Arkham Studio’s under the guiding hand of Alex Cooper (Hanging Dolls) who has also worked with Spike (Quireboys) and Shy to name but a few. Alex also lends his not inconsiderable skills on the drums to the album.
“Chasing Miracles” is from start to finish an instant and enjoyable rollercoaster of catchy as hell songs that get you cranking the volume and dancing along. To be honest, catchy as hell is a massive understatement, this album has had a lot of time and love spent on it in all departments and trust me no hook is left unused and it shows in abundance on every single track.
Another startling thing is the supreme level of musicianship shown throughout the band, for most the names here will be unknown but I assure you, they don’t play like nobodies.

CORVUS - Chasing Miracles (2015) inside

Guitarist John Clews is probably the best known for his time with Serpentine and the guitar work across the entire album is phenomenal. I’m not one for guitar histrionics but Clews has an uncanny ear for the melodic and slips in some awesome fret board work into these songs which only increases their appeal. Clews shines on ‘Retribution’ (track 10) which actually reminds me of Gerhard Pilcher’s instrumentals with Melodica.

Lead singer Ciaran James has a really cool deep tone and this brings out a great vibe in the flow of the songs. Even in AOR circles Keyboardists seem to remain the unsung heroes, but I have to highlight Nick Jeavon’s playing here.
He doesn’t play fluff and filler, his wonderfully adventurous and delivers varied keyboard licks which enhance the feel good factor of all these already smile inducing songs.

Opening track ‘All I Need’ is a pure unadulterated slice of melodic rock lushness, ‘Can’t Get Enough’ which follows carries on the poppy rock template. However this song has more edge to it, and the main melody is awesome.
Then the title track comes up and slays what went before it. This track is a great piece of feel-good, leave your worries behind kind of rock, ready for the Summer.

‘How Long’ questions the strength of love in a relationship – which, all told, is a pretty decent attempt at a love song albeit with a mid-paced AOR feel.
The intro to ‘Turn To Stone’ meanwhile evokes Bon Jovi’s ‘Wanted Dead or Alive’ which is not a bad thing but a homage can be dangerous. Thankfully the song goes down an epic road, which once again showcases the band’s talent.

CORVUS - Chasing Miracles (2015) back

“Chasing Miracles” is a delicious debut from Corvus. These guys are a real revelation and all pure AOR fans really should prepare themselves for the feel-good record of the year.
This album is so uplifting you may find yourself floating away as you listen, singing along, involuntarily dancing and with big smile on your face. There’s some things to polish, and I believe that the next album from Corvus will show the world what they are truly capable of, which is great things.
Welcome guys! Highly Recommended.

01. All I Need
02. Can’t Get Enough
03. Chasing Miracles
04. How Long
05. Turn to Stone
06. Can’t Stop Falling
07. When You Love Someone
08. Believe
09. Truth or Lies
10. Retribution
11. Face the World
12. Where Do We Run
13. Don’t Let the Sun

Ciaran James – Vocals
John Clews – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Nick Jeavons – Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Jordan Brown – Bass, Backing Vocals
Alex Cooper – Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.