ANTHONY GOMES – Electric Field Holler (2015)

ANTHONY GOMES - Electric Field Holler (2015) full


On the the blog, last year we presented ANTHONY GOMES through his 2014 retrospective album (not a ‘best of’) covering all his recording career. Now Gomes is releasing today his new opus “Electric Field Holler“, which indeed, electrifies your body.

Born in Toronto, Gomes established himself in the Chicago area in the early Nineties, recording his debut in 1998 and since then never stopped with solo albums and colaborating with other artists such as Jim Peterik (Survivor, Pride Of Lions).
“Electric Field Holler” packs some of the hottest rocking bluesy guitar work you’ll hear this year, equally influenced by Stevie Ray Vaughan and Jimi Hendrix but sounding really modern and punchy.

With a groovy Gomes’ vocals like a cross between Ritchie Kozen / Glenn Hughes and clean yet stabbing guitar licks, “Turn It Up!” ignites the record in a catchy mood, immediately followed by the pumping “Back Door Scratchin”.
Next “Whiskey Train” is indeed a whiskey-soaked bluesy midtempo with a great steady rhythm section, then “Blueschild” finds inspiration in British bluesy hard rock where Bernie Marsden comes to the fore.

There’s much more to enjoy throughout the record.
Fueled by a granite, giant bass line “Nowhere Is Home” is a more modern song, even with some Melodic Rock in it. The guitar sound is sharp and flows nicely into a clean, strong melody in the chorus. Killer tune.
“Losing Game” add some classic organ to provide variation, while “Junk In The Trunk” is pure heavy-funk fun adorned with swaggerin’ vocals by Anthony.
More British splash floods “Red Handed Blues” – early Whitesnake anyone? – whilst “Listen To The Universe” is the slow tune on the album (not a ballad) with a haunting keyboard in the background, groovy riffs and an overall Gary Moore feeling.

Anthony Gomes is an accomplished guitar slinger and solid vocalist to be taken seriously not only by listeners more affected to blues stuff, but also vintage hard rockers and classic rock fans in general.
With stupendous musicianship, vibrant production (really polished) and a strong pack of songs, “Electric Field Holler” is a terrific record full of passion.
Fans of Ritchie Kozen, Joe Bonamassa, Gary Moore, Bernie Marsden, etc, need to check this guy and his amazing band immediately.
Highly Recommended.

01 – Turn It Up!
02 – Back Door Scratchin’
03 – Whiskey Train
04 – Blueschild
05 – Nowhere Is Home
06 – Losing Game
07 – The Blues Ain’t The Blues No More
08 – Junk In The Trunk
09 – Love Crazy
10 – Red Handed Blues
11 – Delta Raga
12 – Listen To The Universe

Anthony Gomes – Guitar, Lead Vocals
Theo Harden – Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Fred Spencer – Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.