RICK SPRINGFIELD – Stripped Down (2015)

RICK SPRINGFIELD - Stripped Down (2015) full


The great RICK SPRINGFIELD is releasing “Stripped Down“, a new CD/DVD combo.
For the last two years, Springfield has been treating fans to a special ongoing series of intimate solo performances of his vast repertoire, telling stories, explaining lyrics and generally connecting with his always-loyal fan base.

This CD/DVD set features highlights from those performances as well as a new song, the clever “If Wishes Were Fishes”, plus well known Springfield songs including dynamic covers of the classics “Oh Well,” “Rollin’ & Tumblin'” and “Baby Blue”.
But for me, the real deal here are Rick’s hits like “Jessie’s Girl”, “Love Somebody”, “Affair Of The Heart”, etc., all done in a stripped yet lovable versions.

Springfield showed he’s a capable guitarist, but his vocal kept standing out as his star quality. For example, he nailed the falsetto lines on “Inside Silvia” while upping the entertainment value by playing the guitar chords with his I-phone.
He shifts into high gear for the Sammy Hagar penned “I’ve Done Everything for You” and the popular “Love Somebody”, both among the best performances here.
Of course the show could only properly end with the tune everyone came to hear; “Jessie’s Girl”.

RICK SPRINGFIELD - Stripped Down (2015) cd photo

“Stripped Down” shows why Rick Springfield continues to be as relevant today as ever.
The songs are memorable, the performances are compelling and the interaction between Rick and his fans throughout the show is truly genuine.
Note the audio CD tracks are not the same featured on the DVD, where Springfield tells stories of each song and you have some interview clips.
Nice to hear these old favorites made by the man and his guitar.
Quite Recommended.

01 – Affair Of The Heart
02 – Love Is Alright Tonite
03 – I’ve Done Everything For You
04 – Painted Girl
05 – Oh Well
06 – Love Somebody
07 – Baby Blue
08 – Rollin & Tumblin
09 – If Wishes Were Fishes (new song)
10 – Don’t Talk To Strangers
11 – April 24th, 1981 / My Father’s Chair
12 – Me & Johnny
13 – Human Touch
14 – Jessie’s Girl


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.