REVOLUTION SAINTS – Revolution Saints [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

REVOLUTION SAINTS - Revolution Saints [Deluxe Edition] (2015) full


Supergroup? There’s no other word that fit best REVOLUTION SAINTS, the new project put together by Frontiers Records featuring former Bad English and current Journey drummer Deen Castronovo, AOR legend Jack Blades of Night Ranger / Damn Yankees fame, and former Whitesnake guitarist Doug Aldrich.
Add to this superstar trio, Frontiers ‘go to’ man for Melodic Rock projects Alessandro Del Vecchio, who provides the keys, songwriting and production, and you have the awesome self-titled debut to be released next February 23, 2015.

We’ve always known that Deen Castronovo is a freak drummer and an amazing vocalist, but this album propels him into the spotlight and he excels in both roles.
‘It is a musician’s record,’ states Castronovo of the project. Indeed it is. There are a plethora of examples of exquisite musicianship from all throughout the record, none more so than Castronovo himself, who delivers a masters clinic on how exactly to play on a Meloric Rock album with power, soul and finesse.
On “Revolution Saints” Castronovo handles most of the lead vocals, lending it a real Journey feel to the music at times, particularly on the ballads like “Don’t Walk Away”. You can see why he does a lot of the live harmonies for Journey as he has a rich, melodic vocal.

REVOLUTION SAINTS - Revolution Saints [Deluxe Edition] (2015) inside

Speaking of Journey, vocalist Arnel Pineda duets on the massive slab of melodic rock that is “You’re Not Alone”; both vocalists complement each other very well. It could easily have been lifted of the last couple of Journey albums.
Not to be outdone fellow Journey band mate Neal Schon guests on “Way To The Sun”, maybe the nearest we have Schon playing on a Journey-like ’80s sounding song for some time.
“Turn Back Time” is the lead song of the album and rightly so as it roars out of the blocks, with Doug Aldrich letting fly with some tasty riffs. If that wasn’t enough, there is a cracking vocal trade off between Castronovo and Jack Blades, the nearest to a Night Ranger song on here.

Another classy melodic hard rocker is “Back On My Tail”, featuring some monster Aldrich riffs (he never goes too flash on the solos yet gives the songs that extra touch of class) and another chorus that won’t leave your head.
The Journey influence rears it’s head again on “Stranger To This Life”, and continues on the brilliant “Better World”. Alessandro Del Vecchio’s swanky production and tasty ivory tickling on this tune are a particular highlight. But the stop start build up to the genius chorus will have you hooked immediately. Without doubt one of the strongest track on the album.

Judging by the quality of the songwriting on this album, I’m surprised the band included a cover: “How To Mend A Broken Heart”. This track was originally recorded by Swedish monsters Eclipse. The pummeling energy of this version more than matches the original.
If you don’t had enough, this “Revolution Saints Deluxe Edition” features 3 great bonus tracks with songs from the regular edition performed by different vocalists including Doug Aldrich doing leads, plus a DVD with video clips.

REVOLUTION SAINTS - Revolution Saints [Deluxe Edition] (2015) back

What a stonking album to kick off all things Melodic Rock in 2015!
Revolution Saints have set the bar very high, and if you like Journey, Night Ranger et al, this is a Must Have.

01. Back On My Trail
02. Turn Back Time
03. You’re Not Alone (feat. Arnel Pineda)
04. Locked Out Of Paradise
05. Way To The Sun (feat. Neal Schon)
06. Dream On
07. Don’t Walk Away
08. Here Forever
09. Strangers To This Life
10. Better World
11. How To Mend A Broken Heart
12. In The Name Of The Father (Fernando’s Song)
13. You Are Not Alone (Arnel Pineda version)
14. Way To The Sun (Doug Aldrich version)
15. You Are Not Alone (Deen Castronovo version)

Deen Castronovo – Lead Vocals, Drums
Jack Blades – Bass, Vocals on 2, 5
Doug Aldrich – Guitars
Arnel Pineda – co-lead vocals on 3
Neal Schon – guitar solo on 5
Alessandro Del Vecchio – keyboards, backing vocals, vocals on 5
Produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.