LED ZEPPELIN – IV [Deluxe Edition remastered 2CD] (2014)

LED ZEPPELIN - IV [Deluxe Edition remastered 2CD] (2014) full


The second wave of reissues in LED ZEPPELIN‘s overhaul of their classic catalog pretty much follows the path set by the first: remastered versions of the original albums on one disc, and alternate takes and mixes (along with the occasional rare cut) on the other.
The band’s self-titled 1969 debut included live tracks, but all of the others so far — including the new “IV” — have basically replicated the original LPs with different, interesting versions of these classic songs.

More often than not, this is a testament to the albums’ original glistening production by Jimmy Page, who doesn’t get enough credit for his meticulous behind-the-boards work on those Led Zeppelin albums.
On the extraa CD we get an instrumental version of the mandolin-strummed Tolkien fantasy ‘The Battle of Evermore’ and the good, alternate U.K. Mix of ‘When the Levee Breaks’, among other mixes.

‘IV’ remains Led Zeppelin’s defining work. This remastered Deluxe Edition shines in its pristine clarity.
A must have in any collection.

CD 1: Original Album Remastered 2014
1 – Black Dog
2 – Rock and Roll
3 – The Battle of Evermore
4 – Stairway to Heaven
5 – Misty Mountain Hop
6 – Four Sticks
7 – Going to California
8 – When the Levee Breaks

CD 2: Previously Unreleased Studio material
1 – Black Dog (Basic Track with Guitar Overdubs)
2 – Rock and Roll (Alternate Mix)
3 – The Battle of Evermore (Mandolin/Guitar Mix from Headley)
4 – Stairway to Heaven (Sunset Sound Mix)
5 – Misty Mountain Hop (Alternate Mix)
6 – Four Sticks (Alternate Mix)
7 – Going to Calfornia (Mandolin/Guitar Mix)
8 – When the Levee Breaks (Alternate U.K. Mix)

John Bonham – drums, percussion
John Paul Jones – bass, electric piano, mellotron, mandolin
Jimmy Page – guitars, mandolin
Robert Plant – lead and backing vocals, tambourine
Additional musicians
Sandy Denny – vocals on “The Battle of Evermore”
Ian Stewart – piano on “Rock and Roll”


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.