THE DOORS – Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine [Remastered] (2014)

THE DOORS - Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine [Remastered] (2014) full


Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine” was THE DOORS second compilation album ever originally released in 1972 and first appeared after the death of Jim Morrison. The album’s title is a lyric from the song “The End”.
Strangely, “Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine” never was reissued until now, presented in a Deluxe Double CD Remastered, published by Elektra Records / Rhino.

There’s has been countless The Doors compilations in the last 40 years, but none – in my opinion – of the quality of this “Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine”, which, for the fans, is one of the ‘real’ greatest hits approved by the band back in 1972.

THE DOORS - Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine [Remastered] (2014) cd booklet

I’d said none in this quality because this remaster (really taken from the vault – original tapes) sounds incredibly pristine and with attention to respect the original ‘LP vinyl warmness’ and stereophonic of the era.

Additionally, two of the songs on the compilation, “Who Scared You” and “(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further” which were originally released as B-sides were not included on regular albums.
“Who Scared You” appeared in the The Doors: Box Set in 1997, but in an edited version obviously not taken from the original tapes and sounds like crap.
“(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further” appeared in the 2006 Perception box set, but again, the cut presented on this remaster is far superior.

THE DOORS - Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine [Remastered] (2014) back cover

“Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine” Deluxe Double CD Remastered is a must have in any Rock collection, a comprehensive resume from one of the most influential bands of all time; The Doors.
The excellent sound, the high quality artwork and the unbeatable price of this 2CD package invites you to grab the best The Doors greatest hits release ever.
A must have.

01. Break On Through (To The Other Side)
02. Strange Days
03. Shaman’s Blues
04. Love Street
05. Peace Frog / Blue Sunday
06. The Wasp (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)
07. End Of The Night
08. Love Her Madly
09. Spanish Caravan
10. Ship Of Fools
11. The Spy
12. The End

01. Take It As It Comes
02. Runnin’ Blue
03. L.A. Woman
04. Five To One
05. Who Scared You
06. (You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further
07. Riders On The Storm
08. Maggie M’Gill
09. Horse Latitudes
10. When The Music’s Over

Jim Morrison – vocals
Robby Krieger – guitar
Ray Manzarek – piano, organ, bass, vocals
John Densmore – drums
Additional Personnel:
Doug Lubahn, Harvey Brooks, Jerry Scheff – bass
Larry Vinegar – acoustic bass on 9
Curtis Amy, George Bohanon, Champ Webb – horns
Paul Harris – orchestral arrangements


You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Anonymous says:

    "You Need Meat" is sung by Ray.
    This is a great CD I bought it when it came out on vinyl years ago.
    – Lee

Leave a Reply to Anonymous Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.