SAVN – Savn (2014)

SAVN - Savn (2014) full


Norwegian symphonic trio SAVN featuring Midnattsol singer Carmen Elise Espenæs (the younger sister of Leave’s Eyes vocalist Liv Kristine) and two members of The Sins Of Thy Beloved, Stig Johansen (guitar) and Anders Thue (keyboards) — will release its self-titled debut album on April 28.

“Savn” (which means Deprivation) has the right blend of hard and soft energy to keep your body moving. The material is sympho based, but it’s a totally new concept with a very personal approach.
It’s heavy and elegant, charming and introspective, but fundamentally grandiose. But I really prefer to leave you the pleasure of hearing and discovering each new aspect of their musical work.

SAVN - Savn (2014) inside

Their music fits with other symphonic metal bands with female lead vocalists that have quality music and vocals, yet Savn has a special ‘aura’. The songs are on emotions and inner self such as: “The Demons In Me” about the questions and anxiety humans deal with every day.
“Hang On” is about keeping the memories but can’t control the circumstances and time does not stand still. Carmen’s sister Liv Kristen sings with her on “I Am Free” and both create a magical atmosphere. We have another guest on Michelle Darkness (End Of Green) performing on ‘’The Demons In Me’’ providing a different color to the palette.

On the musical side, fiddle players Dag Bjørkedal and Lillian Hodne play a large part adding strings that are provided by the famed Lingua Mortis Orchestra on “Sorrowful” and “Lengselens Hånd” that was directed & recorded by composer and Rage guitarist Victor Smolski.

SAVN - Savn (2014) back cover

Savn offers quality symphonic metal with a twist to escape the common places, and they are really, really interesting.
The album was recorded at Mastersound Studio in Germany with producer Alexander Krull who has obtained an overall majestic sound, thanks to his already clear mixing as well.
This particular genre tends to be a little boring for me, but Savn escapes from the mould always trying of offer something different with each song.
Quite Recommended.

01 – Musical Silence
02 – Hang On
03 – The Demons In Me (feat. Michelle Darkness)
04 – Longing for Love
05 – I Am Free (feat. Liv Kristine)
06 – Sorrowful
07 – All I Want
08 – Now or Never
09 – Lengselens Hånd
10 – Hang On (Growling Version Digipak-CD Bonus Track)
11 – The Demons In me (Growling Vers. Digipak-CD Bonus Track)

Carmen Elise Espenæs – Vocals
Stig Johansen – Vocals, Guitars
Anders Thue – Keyboards


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.