VINCENT LEBOEUF GADREAU’s ISOS – Loving On Standby (2014)

VINCENT LEBOEUF GADREAU's ISOS - Loving On Standby (2014) full


ISOS is Vincent Leboeuf Gadreau’s solo project, the guitarist / singer of Québec, Canada band Inner Odyssey. His debut “Loving On Standby” has few things in common with the prog metal style of Inner Odyssey, Vincent goes here for stylized progressive rock rich in melodies and atmospheres.

ISOS’ music is influenced by many bands and artists such as Porcupine Tree, eighties Pink Floyd and the refined side of Riverside, with bursts of melodic, rocking passages inspired by the British scene.
Vincent plays all electric and acoustic guitars, bass guitars, keyboards and sings all vocals (in English) in the vein of Steve Wilson and Peter Nicholls (IQ).
Principally a skilled guitar player, there’s a great six-string work here, from beautiful acoustic passages (“A Flicker of Hope”), slow high feeling Pink Floydish guitar solos (“Loving on Standby (Pt. 1) : I’ll Be Waiting”), to rocking riffage (“Relapse”).

All is spiced with cheerful, sometimes dark ambient keyboards and odd time signatures drum-bass grooves. We have contributions from some friends like Mathieu Chamberland on piano, which work on closer track “The Last Words” is fantastic. A highlight for sure reminding me the genius of the late Eric Woolfson (Alan Parsons).

VINCENT LEBOEUF GADREAU's ISOS - Loving On Standby (2014) inside

If delicate, stylized progressive rock music with melody is your thing, don’t miss Vincent Leboeuf Gadreau’s Isos “Loving On Standby”.
This is not vintage prog, not classic seventies, this is neo prog with a really modern sound and lots of melodies. In fact, at places you’ll find poppy / art rock patterns skilfully arranged and performed, easy to the ears.
Uplifting, recommended debut.

01 – Loving on Standby (Pt. 1) : I’ll Be Waiting
02 – Loving on Standby (Pt. 2) : Gone Too Far
03 – A Flicker of Hope
04 – Number Two
05 – Inside You Collapsed World
06 – Leave My Mind
07 – Relapse
08 – The Last Words

Vincent Leboeuf Gadreau: lead and back vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, sampling
Étienne Doyon – drums and percussion
Mathieu Chamberland – piano
Marie Demers – backing vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.