SUPERCHARGER – Broken Hearts And Fallaparts (2014)

SUPERCHARGER - Broken Hearts And Fallaparts (2014) full


SUPERCHARGER are one of Denmark’s most recent best kept rocking secrets, they formed in 2009 and the band based in Copenhagen have already produced two albums, being this just released “Broken Hearts And Fallaparts” their third and the one aiming to conquer the hard rock world.

SuperCharger plays party-ready hard rock with a southern feel, but all with a sleazy attitude in a 3-minute format. Virtually every song showcased on “Broken Hearts and Fallaparts” is a festive, good natured, fun rock and roll bonanza with the ability to grab you by the tonsils and rattle you into a groove with instant effect.
One of the most impressive parts about this record is the approach to songwriting. Sure, there are big choruses and lots of powerful solos, but they are implemented in such a way that it really gets at the spirit of true rock and roll.
There is no resisting the infectious, turbo-charged energy dispensed by opening track “Like a Pitbull”, “Supercharged”, “Suzi the Uzi” or “Get What You Deserve”, each sporting a hellraising chorus. And neither can one deny the allure of the no-frills roots rock of tracks like “Five Hours of Nothing”, “Yeah Yeah Yeah” and “The Crash”, all of which sound like the contents of a time capsule buried deep in the American heartland, the heyday of big Cadillacs, nostalgic roadside diners, jukeboxes and pin-up girls.

SUPERCHARGER - Broken Hearts And Fallaparts (2014) inside cover

And there is no shortage of ideas in these songs: all manner of banjo, harmonica, harp, piano, organ and female vocals are incorporated with a sort of twinkle at the corner of the eye, not only diversifying the soundscape, but also contributing an atmosphere of days gone by that SuperCharger would readily confess to being slaves to.
Indeed, “Broken Hearts and Fallaparts” goes hard, but when in rare occasions the band loosen their pressure on the pedal, the results are equally enticing. Songs like lead single “Blood Red Lips” and “Hung Over in Hamburg”, with their twangy guitar melodies, blues ridden solos and punchy rhythms, capture impeccably the dingy atmosphere of the bars and strip joints of Amsterdam and Hamburg.
Then, the balladry of concluding piece “Goodbye Copenhagen” exposes a fragility and melancholy seldom heard in the same sentence as the name SuperCharger.

SUPERCHARGER - Broken Hearts And Fallaparts (2014) back cover

Music need not always be complex or innovative in order to endear, and in this sense “Broken Hearts and Fallaparts” is an almost frighteningly good record.
The power and breadth of Mikkel Neperus’ singing, not to mention his knack for delivering a fantastic chorus in virtually every song, the soul and drive of Thomas Buchwald & Dennis Samaras’ riffs, melodies and solos, and the bouncy rhythm work of bassist Karsten Dines and drummer Benjamin Funk, all produce sufficient amounts of upbeat excellence to keep any fan of Rock, with a huge R, entertained.
Some of the material here admittedly falls victim to anonymity over the course of several listens, but there’s such strength in the singles that these missteps are easily obscured.
So if good ol’ honest rock’n’roll sounds up your alley, you’re unlikely to find it delivered with more skill and flair than SuperCharger.

01 – Like a Pit Bull
02 – Supercharged
03 – Blood Red Lips
04 – Hold On Buddy
05 – Five Hours of Nothing
06 – Yeah Yeah Yeah
07 – Suzi the Uzi
08 – Hung Over In Hamburg
09 – Get What You Deserve
10 – The Crash
11 – From the Gutter
12 – Goodbye Copenhagen

Mikkel Neperus – Lead Vocals
Thomas Buchwald – Lead Guitar
Dennis Samaras – Guitar
Lars Rygaard – Keyboards
Karsten Dines – Bass
Benjamin Funk – Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.